Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Agriculture Building
ag

Built: 1949

Currently Houses: College of Agriculture and Natural Resources

History

Completed in 1949 and dedicated the following year, the structure, like its two neighbors, had huge additions added to the rear in the 1980s. Like the agother buildings on this row, temporary student housing was built behind the Ag College after WWII in order to accommodate returning veterans. Similar housing occupied what is now Fraternity Park. Immediately behind the new addition was the annex, which housed the sales room for the College of Agriculture. One could purchase cheese, ice cream, and other products produced by the UW dairy farm. The sales room closed in the 1970s. Faculty and staff can still purchase meat from the department during certain times.

The college also has several off site facilities that its students use. The Martha & Cliff Hansen Livestock Teaching Arena is west of town and is used by the UW rodeo team. The UW experiment station provides hands on learning and a variety of animals. UW owns roughly an additional 2,500 acres of ranch/farmland for research and teaching purposes.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
 
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader