Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Advocacy, Diversity, and Policy

Associated Students of the University of Wyoming


The Committee shall serve as a medium for individual students, student organizations, and underrepresented communities to voice opinions and concerns regarding university policy, administration, or other issues associated with student life. The Committee shall work to advocate for all students on campus to achieve the diverse mission of our campus. The Committee shall have the responsibility to investigate said issues and will represent student opinion throughout the policy process.


The Committee shall serve as a forum and liaison to the Senate for any individual student or group of students who have a concern about their welfare and quality services available at the University. These powers include, but are not limited to, the ability to investigate student issues, meet with university administrators, officials, and personnel, draft legislation and make appropriate recommendations to the ASUW Senate regarding student issues and concerns, and represent the diverse views of students to outside policymakers. The Committee shall also have the power to recommend to the ASUW Senate and Executive Branch the best methods to foster student inclusivity, advocacy, and policy decisions. The Committee shall be vested with all necessary and appropriate powers to carry out its purpose under these rules.


The Committee shall consist of a minimum of six (6) ASUW Senators, one (1) of whom shall serve as chairperson, and a minimum of three (3) ASUW Students-at-Large, with a minimum of one (1) being a First-Year Senator. The ASUW Vice President shall appoint two (2) Executive Assistants to serve as an ex-officio on the committee. The Committee will seek appointed members from United Multicultural Council and International Student Association with the approval by the ASUW Vice President.

2021-2022 Committee Info

Meeting Time: Fridays from 2:30pm to 3:30pm in the ASUW Conference Room (Union Room 020)

Chair: Senator Hannah Rhymes

ASUW Senators: Autumn Knight, Suyasha Pradhanang, Amblessed Nwokejiobi, Bastian Hansen, Taeya Lobato

First-Year Senators: TBA

Executives: Chief of Staff Homer-Wambeam, President Swilling, Director of Diversity Sapien, Director of Governmental & Community Affairs Brown, Director of Wellness and Sustainability McLean

Contact Us

ASUW Office

1000 E. University Ave.

Wyoming Union, Room 020, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-5204


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window) Find us on Instagram (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon