Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Global Resource Navigation:

Skip to Main Content

News|College of Engineering and Applied Science

Computer Science "WyoGold" Team Finishes First in Colorado Computing Machinery Contest, 10th at Regional

November 2, 2010 — The Computer Science Department sponsored four teams for the 35th annual Association for Computing Machinery International Collegiate Programming Contest. "The Battle of the Brains is the Olympics of the computer programming world," says Michael Karasick, vice president of strategy and technology at IBM Software Group. "These students push their minds to the limit, manipulating technologies such as analytics, system optimization and collaboration to effectively solve a semester's worth of computer programming in just five hours. The amount of talent that we have the opportunity to witness each year is truly impressive and a testament to the value of this competition." The contest challenges teams to use their programming skills and rely on their mental endurance to solve complex, real-world problems under a five-hour deadline.


Back row: Josh Herr, Zeb Fross, Frank Zebre, Ryan Harrod, Jay Wuensch, Sean Ludtke, Chris ProsserFront row: Mason Hall, Dustin Brown, Brett Riotto, David Peek


UW competes in the Rocky Mountain Regional Contest, which had four sites this year. At the Fort Collins site, UW teams competed directly against 18 teams from the Colorado School of Mines, Colorado State University, Mesa State University, Montana State University and the U.S. Air Force Academy. The regional contest covers the geographic area of Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, Eastern Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and New Mexico (excluding Dona Ana county). In all, there were 52 teams competing in the regional competition for the top spot, with the winner advancing to world finals in Egypt.

    The UW teams:

  • WyoGold: Ryan Harrod (Gillette), Jay Wuensch (Gillette) and Frank Zebre (Kemmerer)
  • WyoBown: Don Brockus (Cody), Zebulon Fross (Lysite), and Mason Hall (Casper)
  • WyoPokes: Dustin Brown (Jackson), Sean Ludtke (Cheyenne), and David Peek (Cheyenne)
  • WyoCowboys: Joshua Herr (Cheyenne), Chris Prosser (Thermopolis), and Brett Riotto (Wilson)
  • Coach for all the teams: UW Computer Science Lecturer James Ward

Members of the local student chapter of ACM honed their skills at programming as well as learning to write successful proposals for travel fund requests. They were granted funds from the ASUW Activities Council and the UW Enrichment Fund for Engineering.

Over the five hours of the competition, the four teams worked hard and submitted a number of programs. When the final results were counted, the WyoGold team had finished first in the Fort Collins site and 10th in the regional contest.

WyoGold: Frank Zebre, Ryan Harrod, and Jay Wuensch
WyoBrown: Don Brockus, Mason Hall, and Zeb Fross
WyoPokes: Dustin Brown, Sean Ludtke, and David Peek
wyo cowboys
WyoCowboys: Joshua Herr, Chris Prosser, and Brett Riotto


Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon