Global Resource Navigation:

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Bagley, Barrett Named ‘Top Profs’ By Mortar Board

November 17, 2016
David Bagley (left) and Steve Barrett (right) were honored as Top Profs.
David Bagley (left) and Steve Barrett (right) were honored as Top Profs.

Two faculty members of the College of Engineering and Applied Science were honored recently by a University of Wyoming student organization.

Members of the UW Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board recently announced picks for “Top Profs” at the 37th annual Top Prof Night. Associate Dean and Professor of Electrical Engineering Steve Barrett and Professor of Chemical Engineering David Bagley were among the selections for the honor. Bagley was nominated by Holly Ramseier and Meghan Jacobs, while Barrett was nominated by Richard Yang.

Members of the senior honor society selected professors who have positively influenced their lives at UW. These professors go beyond normal classroom expectations to help their students succeed.

“’Top Prof’ is a great event, as it allows students to recognize the faculty who have had an impact on their lives,” says Christine Wade, associate professor in the UW Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, and an adviser to the UW chapter. “Faculty are especially honored to be recognized as ‘Top Profs,’ because they are chosen by the students.”

Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities, and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. UW chapter members participate in numerous projects and activities throughout the year, both on campus and in the Laramie community.

Listed by hometown are the UW Mortar Board students, their Top Profs and the professors’ disciplines:

  • Afton -- Anna Garner, Cynthia Hartung, psychology.
  • Boise, Idaho -- Erin Lindorfer, Enette Larson-Meyer, family and consumer sciences.
  • Casper -- Jessica Berg, Amy Navratil, zoology and physiology; Kylie Graney, Donal Skinner, zoology and physiology; Kristin Kapeles, Holly Miller, nursing; Samantha Mizokami, Gretchen Sewczak-Claude, kinesiology and health; and Madison Watson, Marci Smith, kinesiology and health.
  • Cheyenne -- Joseph Bartko, Terry Burant, educational studies; Samuel Mallory, Erin Abraham, Honors Program; Aleksandra Zarzycka, Jared Bushman, pharmacy; and Jacob Zumo, Diane Panozzo, Honors Program.
  • Cody -- Holly Ramseier, David Bagley, chemical engineering; and Emma Vannoy, Tara Righetti, law.
  • Green River -- Shyann Rood, Terry Burant, educational studies.
  • Highlands Ranch, Colo. -- Kathryn Curry, Alyssa McElwain, family and consumer sciences; and Jessica York, Linda Thunstrom, economics and finance.
  • Jackson -- Kendra Morrison, Derek Smith, kinesiology and health.
  • Johnstown, Colo. -- Danielle Creech, Thomas Mowen, criminal justice.
  • Laramie -- Joellen Coates, Rachel Watson, microbiology; Heidi Hanekamp, Meg Flanigan Skinner, zoology and physiology; Kathleen Oolman, William Rice, physics and astronomy; Rebecca Steinkraus, John Willford, molecular biology; and Richard Yang, Steven Barrett, electrical and computer engineering.
  • Moorpark, Calif. -- Sydney Stein, Margaret Stewart, communication and journalism.
  • Nashua, Mont. -- Jennifer Ramsbacher, Rachel Sailor, art.
  • Pine Haven -- Christina Zurbuchen, Emily Guseman, kinesiology and health.
  • Pinedale -- Kelli Terrell, Narina Nunez, psychology.
  • Powell -- Kadi Cooley, Meg Flanigan Skinner, zoology and physiology.
  • Ranchester -- Sarah Maze, Jonathan Prather, Life Science Program.
  • Riverton -- Morgan Hinkle, Brenda Cannon, family and consumer sciences.
  • Rock Springs -- Katherine Jacobs, Rachel Budowle, Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources.
  • Scottsbluff, Neb. -- Lauren Miller, Penne Ainsworth, accounting.
  • Sheridan -- Meghan Jacobs, David Bagley, chemical engineering.
  • Shiocton, Wisc. -- Haley Ehrle, Michael Liebman, family and consumer sciences.
  • Torrington -- Shelby Hatten, Tara Waddell Clapp, psychology.
  • Wellington, Colo. -- Julia Dohan, Cynthia Vadnais, mathematics.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon