Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

New Mentor Program Under Way in College of Engineering

October 4, 2017
Woman describes electrical circuit board to man in classroom
At left, electrical engineering student Reenu Paul will be a CEAS Outreach Ambassador and participate in the CEAS Female Mentor program.

A program aimed at forming connections between experienced female engineers and student counterparts is under way in the University of Wyoming’s College of Engineering and Applied Science (CEAS).

The CEAS Female Mentor Program was created by K-14 Outreach Coordinator Teddi Hofmann. It features five mentors, all of whom are UW alumnae, who work in industry and will offer advice and guidance to CEAS students. The mentors in the program include Robin Hill, Sherrie Merrow, Christie Roberts, Jera Schlotthauer and Amy Sharpe.

The mentees involved in the program are sophomore, junior and senior undergraduates, and include Eloise Fadial, Damiana Murdock, Reenu Paul, Hannah Vehige and Annaliese Fitzsimmons.

“I am thrilled to announce the launch of our pilot Female Mentor Program for the 2017-2018 school year,” Hofmann says. “The idea for the program first came about in the spring of 2015, extending from a STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) program that had been organized as part of the Martin Luther King, Jr., Days of Dialogue annual event series on UW’s campus.

“It has been an exciting process to develop and now implement this program with support from the college. I am especially grateful to our participating alumnae who have demonstrated outstanding leadership at UW and within their own communities. I look forward to supporting our mentees and mentors over the course of the year and to witnessing their success and growth together.”

Outreach Ambassadors
The CEAS has announced the students who will serve as K-14 Outreach Ambassadors for the 2017-18 academic year. The students chosen for the program are Chris Rumple, Moriah Miller, Nicholas Whites, Sara Bashir, Mike Tran, Aisha Mohammed, Emily Beagle, Annaliese Fitzsimmons, Holly Beiko and Thomas Bruton.

The individuals will receive a scholarship of $1,000 and are required to dedicate 30 hours of outreach per semester and 60 over the course of the academic year. Their duties are diverse, including visiting classrooms throughout the state, hosting student groups on campus and helping with competitions hosted by UW, including MathCounts, TEAMS and Engineers Week.

According to estimates, the efforts of Hofmann and the ambassadors reached about 4,000 Wyoming students last year.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon