Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Computer Science

College of Engineering and Applied Science

ICPC 2011

Back row: Jim Ward, Josh Herr, Tom Pearce, Brett Riotto, Alex Wellock, Zeb Fross, Ian Hall, Jake Harper Front row: Chris Prosser, Donovan Miller, Taylor Legg, Jon Duke
ICPC 2011 Team

October 28, 2011

"When the final results were counted, Wyoming's top team, WyoGold, had finished fourth in the Fort Collins site and 21th in the regional contest. "

The Computer Science Department sponsored four teams for the 36th annual Association for Computing Machinery International Collegiate Programming Contest. "The Battle of the Brains is the Olympics of the computer programming world," says Michael Karasick, vice president of strategy and technology at IBM Software Group. "These students push their minds to the limit, manipulating technologies such as analytics, system optimization and collaboration to effectively solve a semester's worth of computer programming in just five hours. The amount of talent that we have the opportunity to witness each year is truly impressive and a testament to the value of this competition." The contest challenges teams to use their programming skills and rely on their mental endurance to solve complex, real-world problems under a five-hour deadline.

UW competes in the Rocky Mountain Regional contest, which had four sites this year. At the Fort Collins site, UW teams competed directly against 19 teams from the Colorado School of Mines, University of Colorado - Colorado Springs Campus, Colorado State University, Mesa State University, Montana State University and the U.S. Air Force Academy. The regional contest covers the geographic area of Arizona, Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, Eastern Nevada, Idaho, Montana, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and New Mexico (excluding Dona Ana county). In all, there were 49 teams competing in the regionals for the top spot with the winner advancing to world finals in Poland.

    The UW teams:
  • WyoGold: Zeb Fross (Lysite), Tom Pearce (Buffalo), Brett Riotto (Wilson)
  • WyoBown: Kira Lawrence (Laramie), Jon Duke (Denver), Alex Wellock (Dallas, OR)
  • WyoCowboys: Chris Prosser (Thermopolis), Donovan Miller (Littleton, CO), Josh Herr (Cheyenne)
  • TheFreshness: Taylor Legg (Laramie), Jake Harper (Temecula, CA), Ian Hall (Spearfish, SD)
  • Coach for all the teams: UW Computer Science Lecturer Jim Ward

The UW teams would like to make a special thanks to Odion Oisamoje (our ACM chapter President), who worked very hard this year on grant proposals for all the travel and lodging funding for the teams. She secured funds from the ASUW Activities Council and the UW Enrichment Fund for Engineering.

Over the five hours of the competition, the four teams worked hard and submitted a number of programs. When the final results were counted, Wyoming's top team, WyoGold, had finished fourth in the Fort Collins site and 21th in the regional contest. Congratulations to all the UW teams, who did very well in the competition.

WyoGold: Brett Riotto, Tom Pearce, and Zeb Fross

WyoBrown: Jon Duke and Alex Wellock
TheFreshness: Taylor Legg, Jake Harper, and Ian Hall

WyoCowboys: Joshua Herr, Chris Prosser, and Donovan Miller

Coach: Jim Ward (not pictured)

Results from the ICPC 2010

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon