Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Sunset over the Tetons

Fostering and Rewarding Excellence

UW has taken important action to build collaboration with our constituents and partners to improve and enhance the health and well-being of our communities and environments through the organization of a UW Engagement Council which will work with the Director of Engagement and Outreach to help develop the set of ideas, goals, and policies shaped by OEO and university units in order to elevate the university’s already substantial programs in community engagement.

The council works with Director Jean Garrison to help build the campus engagement and outreach mission, help put in place supporting structures and processes, help OEO implement its strategic plan, and be part of the team to champion this work across campus and around the state.

In this council, there is representation from each academic college/school as well as some key partner units so that we have a broad representation from the campus community representing diverse perspectives.  It will serve an important communication and advisory/decision-making role for OEO as we strengthen the culture of engagement on campus. 


The following individuals have agreed to serve on the UW Engagement Council for a two-year, renewable appointment.  


Unit Representation Council Membership
Agriculture and Natural Resources  Barbara Rasco (Dean) 
Arts and Sciences Michael Griffith (Professor - Department of Music)
Business Steve Farkas (Assistant Dean and Director of the MBA)
Education Ana Houseal (Assoc. Professor - School of Teacher Education)
Engineering Cameron Wright (Interim Dean)
Energy Resources, School of Kipp Coddington (Director - Energy Policy & Economics)
Haub School Steve Smutko (Spicer Wyoming Excellence Chair)
Health Sciences Sandy Root-Elledge (Executive Director - Wyoming Institute for Disabilities)
Law School Klint Alexander (Dean)


Other Partner Units
Unit Representation Council Membership
Academic Affairs Anthony Ogden (AVP Global Engagement)
Admissions Amy Schmidt (Recruitment and Enrollment Specialist – UW at CWC)
Advising, Career, and Exploratory Studies (ACES) Jo Chytka (ACES Director)
Agricultural Experiment Station Brian Mealor (Director-R&E Center Sheridan)
Alumni Relations Keener Fry (Executive Director)
Art Museum Katie Christensen (Curator of Education and Statewide Engagement)
Athletics Randy Welniak (Senior Associate Athletic Director – Development and Revenue Enhancement)
Center for Service, Leadership, and Community Engagement (SLCE) Richard Raridon (Coordinator of Community Engagement and Service)
Cooperative Extension Service Kelly Crane (Associate Dean/Director)
High Plains American Indian Research Institute James Trosper (Director)
Institutional Communications Chad Baldwin (Associate Vice President)
ODEI/Diversity Council Christi Carter (Diversity Analyst)
Office of Research and Economic Development Brian Barber (Broader Impacts Officer and Research Scientist in the Life Science Program)
Staff Senate David Keto (Area Tech and Communications Manager, Cooperative Extension Service)

Awards and Grants

The Office and Engagement and Outreach along with the UW Engagement Council offers a variety of Awards and Fellowship Opportunities. 

placeholder imageplaceholder

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon