Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Undergraduate Degree|Earth System Science

Contact Us

Earth System Science
Elise Pendall, Director
110 Aven Nelson Bldg.
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: (307) 766-6293

The ESS curriculum includes four areas. First, there is the ESS Core which consists of five core courses (16 credit hours), including academic credit for a required internship. Second, it requires Foundation courses (37-39 credit hours) in math, physics, chemistry, geographic information systems, remote sensing, and biogeochemistry. Third, courses are required by the Concentration (up to 50 hours). And fourth, some of the requirements of the University Studies Program are met with a combination of new and existing ESS Core, Foundation, and Concentration courses.

Links to the course names and descriptions:


(*) The Botany concentration is being eliminated due to changes in the Botany curriculum. The Biology concentration is being revised, and the ESSE curriculum is being revised.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader