University of Wyoming Website

Accessibility Navigation:

University of Wyoming


Primary Site Navigation

University of Wyoming

Contact Us

Earth System Science
Robert D. Kelly, Director

6072 Engineering Department 3038
1000 E. University Avenue
Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-4955
Fax: (307) 766-2635

Earth System Science
Undergraduate Degree

The ESS curriculum includes four areas. First, there is the ESS Core which consists of five core courses (16 credit hours), including academic credit for a required internship. Second, it requires Foundation courses (37-39 credit hours) in math, physics, chemistry, geographic information systems, remote sensing, and biogeochemistry. Third, courses are required by the Concentration (up to 50 hours). And fourth, some of the requirements of the University Studies Program are met with a combination of new and existing ESS Core, Foundation, and Concentration courses.

Links to the course names and descriptions:


(*) The Botany concentration is being eliminated due to changes in the Botany curriculum. The Biology concentration is being revised, and the ESSE curriculum is being revised.

Footer Navigation