## Faculty Senate University of Wyoming

Laramie, Wyoming

Minutes of the Meeting of 06 March 2023

A regular meeting of the University of Wyoming Faculty Senate (FS) was called to order by Chair Renee Laegreid at 3:15 p.m., on March 6, 2023, in the Senate Chambers, University of Wyoming Union. Additional FS members and guests were able to join via Zoom.

The roll was called by Secretary Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz, with the following senators not in attendance and not represented by official alternate or by proxy; Anderson, Bialostok, Borowczak, Caulton, Cawley, Coupal, Edwards, Hoberg, Lake, Leotti, McCoy, Miles, Miller—S., Ricupero, Todd, and Urynowicz.

Chair Laegreid called for a motion to approve the agenda for March 6, 2023; a motion was made, seconded and carried. Chair Laegreid called for a motion to approve the minutes of February 20, 2023; motion made, seconded, and carried.

Chair Laegreid started her Chair's report with an update of the AI Chatbots (aka Chat GTP) working group, which has sent a final report to President Seidel. She mentioned that changes to Regulation 2-114 were held for slight revision, but will be introduced during the March 27th meeting.

The chair continued by summarizing an update from President Seidel. She shared that the Legislative Session was successful, particularly with funding for capital construction projects, salary increases, new endowed chair programs and additional annual funding for the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences. She reminded senators that President Seidel will have a coffee hour at Pokes Pub on April 6th.

Chair Laegreid reported that she, Past FS Chair Freng, and FS Chair Elect Sprague met with the Provost regarding new programs, process for acceptance, and who is best suited at the higher level to make sure that programs do not negatively affect existing programs. Finally, she ended the report with the announcement that proposed language on University Regulation 2-7 is forthcoming in April.

Chair Laegreid called for the report from ASUW and Staff Senate. No representatives were present to give either report.

The Chair next called for committee reports.

Senator Steve Bialostok was not present to report on the Parking Committee, but Chair Laegreid indicated that they will meet soon.

RTP Committee, Carnegie Task Force, Science Initiative Executive, 2-13 Sapp, Salary and Compensation, and the Gen Ed Revisions committees did not have anything new or substantial to report.

Senator Ashley Hope Carlisle, Statewide Engagement Committee, indicated that the first committee meeting was held the previous week, and that connections between the Neltje Center and AMK Ranch were discussed.

There were no General Announcements.

The next order of business was Executive Committee elections for the 2023-24 Academic year. Chair Elect Sprague recommended that senators vote on the slate as one, as none of the nominees ran opposed. Chair Laegreid called for a vote on the slate; seconded and passed unanimously. Officers elected for the 2023-24 Academic Year are as follows: Ray Fertig—Chair Elect; Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz—Secretary; Steve Bialostok—Member at Large—1 yr term; and Vladimir Alvarado and Tiger Robison—Member at Large—2 yr terms.

Secretary Sprout Ahrenholtz moved to add Misty Eaton to the Agenda, to present following Matt Griswold; seconded and passed.

Matt Griswold, VP for Online and Continuing Education, provided a presentation on the state of online and continuing education at UW, and aspirations for improving our offerings and capturing market share. Topics included services for departments that could help develop new programs and find new audiences; instructional design; IT policy; intellectual property ownership; business model review; and creation and visibility of noncredit programs. Discussion followed.

Misty Eaton, Director of the University Store, presented information on inclusive access. Due to changing marketing and delivery strategies in the textbook industry, digital textbooks will become the new norm and she shared what that means from a faculty ordering/adoption standpoint, as well as from the student point of view. Discussion followed.

Chair Laegreid introduced six resolutions as follows, holding off substantial commentary or background on each resolution until the next full senate meeting:

Resolution 430: Transfer of COM2 credit

Resolution 431: Data Science Center moving to the School of Computing

Resolution 432: Department of Visual and Literary Arts Name Change

Resolution 433: Arabic and MENA minor

Resolution 434: Science and Math Teaching Center moving to the College of Education

Resolution 435: Five new minors in the Department of Theater and Dance

Chair Laegreid called for a motion to adjourn; moved, seconded, passed. The meeting adjourned at 5:15 pm and went into Executive Session.

Treva E Sprout Ahrenholtz, Secretary

Jeva & Smout ahrenholtz

Dated: March 20, 2023