Faculty Senate University of Wyoming

Laramie, Wyoming

Minutes of the Meeting of 27 March 2023

A regular meeting of the University of Wyoming Faculty Senate (FS) was called to order by Chair Renee Laegreid at 3:15 p.m., on March 27, 2023, in the Senate Chambers, University of Wyoming Union. Additional FS members and guests were able to join via Zoom.

The roll was called by Secretary Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz, with the following senators not in attendance and not represented by official alternate or by proxy; Anderson, Borowczak, Bowman, Caulton, Coupal, Grant, Hoberg, Humphrey, Lake, Leotti, McCoy, Miller—S., Sims, Todd, Willhaus, and Xu.

Chair Laegreid called for a motion to approve the agenda for March 27, 2023; a motion was made, seconded and carried. Chair Laegreid called for a motion to approve the minutes of March 6, 2023; motion made, seconded, and carried.

Chair Laegreid started her Chair's report with an update on the Board of Trustees meeting held last week. Main topics discussed included the legislative session and faculty and staff raises. President Seidel has set the next event to connect with faculty and staff at Pokes Pub on April 6th, 2:30—4:00. She indicated that she, Bob, and Adrienne recently met with Tami Benham Deal concerning upcoming regulations (2-7). She also mentioned that language in UW Reg 9-1 was being discussed with VP Griswold, in particular regarding faculty rights to materials developed in online courses. Finally, she announced that Jeff Lockwood would deliver this spring's Faculty Senate Speaker Series, "The Art of Quitting: Manifestations, Meaning and Mastery" at 4:10 p.m. Tuesday, March 28, in the Wyoming Union Family Room.

Chair Laegreid called for the report from ASUW and Staff Senate. No representatives were present to give either report.

The Chair next called for committee reports.

Senator Nathan Clements reported that the Higher Learning Commission committee will be meeting mid-April.

Member at Large Elect, Steve Bialostok, reported that new parking rates were approved by the Trustees, new parking with electric charging stations is being finished north of the Engineering building, and that closure of the Union parking lot and opening of the Ivinson garage will likely occur in May.

Member at Large Elect, Vladimir Alvarado, Carnegie Task Force committee, reported that their draft report has been sent, and that they have received feedback from Academic Affairs.

There was no report for the Science Initiative Executive committee.

Salary and Compensation committee representative, Past Chair Adrienne Freng, reported that the legislature approved money for raises and further discussed potential distribution of raises. Significant discussion followed.

2-13 Sapp committee representative, Secretary Treva Sprout Ahrenholtz, reported that the committee is still awaiting feedback and next steps from Academic Affairs.

A report from the Freedom of Expression committee was deferred to a later agenda item.

Senator Ashley Hope Carlisle, Statewide Engagement Committee, indicated that the most recent meeting was held during her lecture time and that she would provide a report at the next meeting.

Senator Rick Fisher, Gen Ed Revisions committees, reported that sub-committees continue to meet and chairs will provide a report towards the end of the semester.

There were no General Announcements.

Martha McCaugh and Nevin Aiken from the Freedom of Expression Committee reported on the progress of this group selected by President Seidel. They reported that they are currently developing recommendations around constructive dialog, enhancing freedom of expression, and engendering inclusivity towards all groups. Currently, they are meeting with stakeholders to develop a broad set of guiding principles and how those principles will be operationalized. Discussion followed. They called for feedback or thoughts on freedom of expression or civilized discourse from senators or campus at large, which can be sent to mmccaugh@uwyo.edu or maiken@uwyo.edu.

Following this report, Chair Laegreid introduced Resolution 436 in Support of Academic Affairs' Proposed Changes to Regulation 2-114; Student Academic Dishonesty.

Chair Laegreid brought Resolution 430: Transfer of COM2 Credit to the floor for discussion and vote. Motion to pass resolution was made and seconded; resolution passed unanimously.

Chair Laegreid brought Resolution 431: Data Science Center moving to the School of Computing credit to the floor for discussion and vote. Motion to pass resolution was made and seconded; resolution passed unanimously.

Resolution 432: Department of Visual and Literary Arts Name Change was brought to the floor by Chair Laegreid for discussion and vote. Motion to pass resolution was made and seconded; resolution passed unanimously.

Chair Laegreid brought Resolution 433: Arabic and MENA Minor to the floor for discussion and vote. Professors Eric Nigh and Stephanie Anderson answered questions about the proposal. Motion to pass resolution was made and seconded; resolution passed unanimously.

Resolution 434: Science and Math Teaching Center Moving to the College of Education was brought to the floor for discussion and vote by Chair Laegreid. Motion to pass resolution was made and seconded; resolution passed unanimously.

Finally, Chair Laegreid brought Resolution 435: Five New Minors in the Department of Theater and Dance to the floor for discussion and vote. Motion to pass resolution was made and seconded; resolution passed with one abstention.

Chair Laegreid called for a motion to adjourn; moved, seconded, passed. The meeting adjourned at 4:54 pm and went into Executive Session.

Treva E Sprout Ahrenholtz, Secretary

Thera & Smout almenholtz

Dated: April 3, 2023