Faculty Senate University of Wyoming

Laramie, Wyoming

Minutes of the Meeting of 26 September 2022

A regular meeting of the University of Wyoming Faculty Senate (FS) was called to order by Chair Renee Laegreid at 3:14 p.m., on September 26, 2022, in the Family Room, University of Wyoming Union. Additional FS members and guests were able to join via Zoom.

The roll was called by Chair Elect Robert Sprague, with the following senators not in attendance and not represented by official alternate or by proxy; Mike Borowczak, Gregg Cawley, Roger Coupal, James Creel, Jeff Edwards, Scott Lake, Rochelle McCoy, Jerod Merkle, Steve Miller, Ali Nejadmalayeri, Lydiah Nganga, and Bryan Ricupero.

Chair Laegreid called for a motion to approve the agenda; a motion was made, seconded, and carried. Chair Laegreid called for a motion to approve the minutes of September 12, 2022; motion made, seconded, and carried.

The Chair's report started the meeting with a reminder the Presidential Evaluation is open, and everyone should be getting their evaluation finished. The Chair also wanted everyone to be aware that the evaluation could time out.

The Provost is setting up a six person committee on the SAPP for Regulation 2-13. Secretary Sprout Ahrenholtz and Senator Janelle Kreuger will be a part of that committee.

Chair Laegreid and Past Chair Freng will meet with Assoc. VP Courtney, VP Benham-Deal, and Kate McLaughlin, Director of Disability Support Services (DSS), to discuss policy changes.

The Chair talked about an email concerning the transit system she had received. She then took a quick poll about concerns on the transit system.

ASUW Chief of Staff Riley Skorcz reported on a successful Pizza with the President Party that was recently held. She also spoke about the ASUW Senate passed a resolution on Laramie housing, monthly meetings with President Seidel and a fee hearing process will begin next week.

Past Chair Freng reported that Strategic Planning was hopefully going to be finalized soon. Freng also reported the HCM has online training available.

Senator Nathan Clements reporting on the HLC Report said they would be having their first meeting this week.

Chair Laegreid reported for Senator Steve Bialostok for the Parking committee. She said the Parking Committee had not met recently. People who hold permits in Brown lots that will be going off-line at the end of the semester will receive instructions on how to get new permits in November.

Thomas Grant on the RTP Committee said they are looking into external reviews and all that entails including who gets to choose the reviewers, international differences and the rank of the reviewers.

Vladimir Alvarado reported that the Carnegie Task Force meets once a month, and they are working within 5 major bullet points.

Chair Laegreid reported that Ashley Carlisle and Bree Doering have volunteered to be on the Science Initiative Executive Committee.

Past Chair Freng reported the Salary and Compensation Committee has not met since the last Senate meeting.

Chair Laegreid then passed the floor to President Seidel who covered many topics including shared governance, quasi endowment money, the new Fellows Program, Saddle-Up, the School of Computing and interdisciplinary issues. Questions followed.

Ryan O'Neil, Dean of Students & Associate VP of Student Affairs gave a brief PowerPoint on a few of the changes in the Student Code of Conduct. Questions followed.

April Heaney, Director of LeaRN Program, University Studies Committee Chairman Nancy Small and First Year Seminar Coordinator Allison Gernant spoke on the First Year Seminar. Questions and discussion followed.

Chair Laegreid asked for a straw poll on the First Year Seminar; to suspend, to support or to support with finding a way to continue. To suspend receive 12 votes, to support and to support with finding a way to continue were combined for 25 votes.

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting, seconded and passed. The meeting was adjourned at 5:53 pm.