Library Council Annual Report

The Library Council is composed of Brenda M. Alexander, College of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Robert D. Sprague, College of Business; Melissa Hunter, School of Pharmacy; Jihyun Lee, College of Education; Edward D. Sherline, College of Arts and Sciences; Matt J. Grey, College of Arts and Science; Dana Caulton, College of Engineering and Science; Tawnya Plumb, Law School.

Brenda M. Alexander has served as chair for the 2021-2022 academic year, and will serve as chair for the 2022-2023 academic year.

The committee has remained informed of changes within library services, space allocations, and special programs at the library throughout the year. During the past year, concerns over the budget and allocation of resources have consumed most of the discussion of the Library Council. Ivan Gaetz, Library Dean, and librarians attend the council meetings to keep the council informed regarding library business. While every effort has been made to assure little or no loss of actual materials, though in some cases reliance on interlibrary loan may be necessary, UW Libraries is prepared to address any resource-related questions and concerns that may arise about budget reductions, including at the faculty, department and college levels.

One highlight of the year was the tour given Library Council in December of the new "Student Learning Commons" located on Coe Level One, where services of the Writing Center, Advising and other support programs are offered in a "one-stop-shopping format." The remodel of this large space was funded by Academic Affairs, student fees, and libraries operations budgets.