Sidebar Site Navigation
Please be aware that writing and delivering a check when knowledgeable that the account it is written against has insufficient funds to cover the check is a criminal offense under Wyoming law. The University will not automatically redeposit a returned check. University of Wyoming regulations require a charge for all dishonored checks. Furthermore, check writing privileges at the University will be permanently suspended for anyone who writes three (3) or more checks which are returned for lack of adequate funds. The policy of the University is that dishonored checks will be assessed a minimum charge of $15.00, with a maximum charge double the amount of the check, but not less than $50.00 plus interest and the cost of collection.* Dishonored checks must be redeemed with cash or money order.
*Policy is in accordance with Wyoming statutes §1-1-115, Civil liability for unpaid checks, §6-3-702; Fraud by check; penalties; and University Regulation 3-176, Dishonored checks payable to the University of Wyoming.