Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Department of History|College of Arts and Sciences

All awards are for summer internships or independent research projects under the supervision of History faculty. Students must be enrolled in at least one credit hour during the summer in order to be funded.

  • Step 1: Faculty member nominates a student after discussing their project. Nominations come to the Undergraduate Awards Committee.
  • Step 2: Students must submit a formal acceptance from the institution sponsoring the internship or a 1-2 page prospectus describing the nature of an independent research project. The prospectus must be approved and signed by the faculty sponsor. Acceptance forms and prospectuses come to the Undergraduate Awards Committee.
  • Step 3: Notifications will be sent out by mid-April.

Contact Us

History Department
Dept. 3198
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Phone: 307-766-5101
Fax: 307-766-5192

Undergraduate Awards

Thanks to the generosity of the donors listed below, the History Department is able to award several undergraduates annually to support internships, study abroad, and independent research projects. Nominations for these awards come from faculty advisors and the directors of internships and independent research projects. The department encourages all undergraduates who are involved in any of these activities to discuss possible award nominations with their respective advisors and project directors. Instructions for applying can be found on the left-hand side of this page.


             List of Available Awards:

Sidney Barsky Memorial Scholarship

Created by the estate of Sidney Barsky in 1995 to reward academic achievement.

Duniway Book Prize

Made possible by friends and colleagues to honor the memory of former UW President (1912-1917) Clyde A. Duniway.

Sylvester Siren Memorial Scholarship

Created by the Siren family to honor UW graduate (1930) Sylvester J. Siren.

William Steckel Undergraduate Scholarship

Made possible by the generosity of Wyoming broadcast pioneer Mr. Jack Rosenthal in honor of one of his favorite history professors.

Agnes Mathilde Wergeland Memorial History Prize

Established by Professor Grace Raymond Hebard to honor Agnes Wergeland, one of the pioneering members of this department.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon