Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

The College of Health Sciences |Distinguished Alumni

The College of Health Sciences Distinguished Alumni of 2014

School of Pharmacy

Allan Weber

Allan E. Weber, Ph.D., (B.S.P. ’63) was recently named the University of Wyoming School of Pharmacy 2014 Distinguished Alumnus. He will be honored during the College of Health Sciences award ceremony Oct. 17. Weber’s highly successful pharmaceutical development career includes numerous accomplishments, including participating in over 12 new domestic and international drug approvals and receiving three Presidential Awards at Abbott Laboratories for project leadership and technical advances leading to new product approvals. Read full article.

Division of Medical Education

Eric Cubin Eric Cubin, M.D., M.S., Distinguished Alumnus of the WWAMI Medical Education Program, joined Casper Medical Imaging in 2010. He is a Casper native and is excited to be able to practice medicine in his home town. Dr. Cubin has a love for the outdoors and the Wyoming lifestyle including some of his favorite passions, bow hunting, fishing, backpacking and competitive shooting.
M.D. — University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, WA
Internship — General Internal Medicine, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI
Residency — Interventional Radiology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

Division of Social Work

Chrissy Jones Chrissy L. Davis Jones, MSW, is the Division of Social Work Distinguished Alumna of the Year. She is currently the Associate Dean of Student Development at Spokane Falls Community College part of the Community Colleges of Spokane District. She began her work at Spokane Falls Community College (SFCC) in February 2010 as the Director of Academic Advising, and was promoted to the Associate Dean of Student Development in August of 2010. Read the full article.

Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing

Marlene Ethier Marlene Ethier, MS, RN, CNE (MS, ’93), is the 2014 Distinguished Alumna for the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing at the University of Wyoming. Ethier, a nursing leader in Wyoming for over 25 years, joined the faculty of Western Wyoming Community College as a nursing instructor in 1989 and continued on to direct that program from 1999-2013. As a master of curriculum development, Ethier introduced a highly successful, innovative, student-centered curriculum to nursing education, preparing competent nurses in southwest Wyoming for over a decade. The success of her curriculum brought forth regional invitations to present on “Problem Based Learning” and landed her on the curriculum committee for ReNEW (Revolutionizing Nursing Education in Wyoming), where she is working with nurse educators around Wyoming to move forward a state-wide curriculum in order to smooth students’ transition to higher education. More on Ethier:

Division of Kinesiology and Health

Alex Garn

Alex Garn, Ph.D., is the Division of Kinesiology and Health’s Distinguished Alumnus of the Year. Dr. Garn graduated with his M.S. degree in Kinesiology and Health (thesis) in 2000. He completed his Ph.D. at Indiana University in 2007 and is currently a faculty member at Louisiana State University.

Division of Communication Disorders

Doug Baldwin Dr. Douglas Baldwin, Distinguished Alumnus for the Division of Communication Disorders, earned his Master’s of Science in Audiology from the University of Wyoming in 1994. Dr. Baldwin worked as a clinical audiologist at Rehder Hearing Clinic and Deaconess Clinic in Billings from 1994 to 2006. In his time in Montana, Dr. Baldwin developed and supervised the hospital universal newborn hearing screening program in Montana and guest lectured for the Rocky Mountain College physician’s assistant program. Dr. Baldwin earned his Doctorate in Audiology in 2003 from A.T. Still University in Arizona. Dr. Baldwin is currently an audiology manager for Unitron-Sonova in Staefa, Switzerland. Dr. Baldwin manages projects in scientific marketing and audiology education. He prepares and executes training materials, contributes to product concepts and software applications, and conducts demonstrations and training around the world. He has authored articles for the Journal of Educational Audiology and the Hearing Journal. Dr. Baldwin has volunteered with Hear the World Foundation, which works toward sustainable improvements in hearing services in under-developed countries.

Friend of the College

Kerry Hall

Kerry Patrick Hall, CEO of Wyoming Delta Dental. Kerry has provided strong support for the UW College of Health Sciences over the years. He is a great advocate for the college’s WYDENT program where we provide dental education for eight new students every year, four at Creighton University and four at the University of Nebraska Dental Schools. Kerry has helped support these students and takes the initiative to maintain contact with them and visit them on a regular basis. When I introduced him, I said that I rely on him to keep me informed about this important program and these students, and that is so true. He is on the College of Health Sciences Deans Advisory Council and has supported many other college initiatives including the Honduras Brigade. It is great to recognize his support in naming him the 2014 Friend of the College of Health Sciences awardee.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader