Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Brimmer Scholars Program

The Judge Clarence A. Brimmer Scholars Program honors Judge Brimmer’s long and distinguished service to the District of Wyoming, its bar, and its citizens as a Judge of the District Court. The substantial scholarship of $10,000+ is awarded to the student who has demonstrated excellence while in law school. The Scholarship committee considers the academics, service, involvement and leadership of the applicants. It is an extraordinary honor to be a finalist as well as recipient of this award. 

About Judge Brimmer

The Honorable Clarence Addison Brimmer, Jr. was born in Rawlins, Wyoming in 1922. After receiving his B.A. in 1944, he served in the U.S. Army Air Force during World War II from 1945-1946 and earned his J.D. from the University of Michigan in 1947.

He returned to Wyoming and practiced law in Rawlins before serving as Wyoming Attorney General from 1971-1974 and as U.S. Attorney for the District of Wyoming in 1975. He was nominated by President Gerald Ford to the U.S. District Court Bench for the District of Wyoming in 1975. He served as Chief Judge from 1986-1992 and was elected to take senior status in 2006. He remained in service until his death in 2014. 

Brimmer Scholarship Recipients


2022 Brimmer Scholars – Jessie Salas and Cristina Salazar

Finalists: Hope Bringhurst, Hannah Mink, Jenna VonHofe, and Austin Waisanen


Read more about Salas and Salazar

two women in suitsWoman in suit on stairsWoman smiling

2021 Brimmer Scholars – Jake Vogt and Celyn Whitt

Finalists: Erick Hughes, Joe Layzell, Briana Long, Krystle Somers


Read more about Vogt and Whitt


smiling man in suitsmiling woman in suit

2020 Brimmer Scholars – Brittney Bulawa and Brenna Fisher

Finalists: TaLise Hansen, Jewel Marsh, Haley Richards, Emily Sloan


Read More about Bulawa and Fisher

brittney bulawa and brenna fisher with plaquebrittney bulawabrenna fisherTaLise Hansen, Jewel Marsh, Haley Richards, Emily Sloan

2019 Brimmer Scholar – Meridith Heneage

Finalists: Kari Hartman, Toni Hartzel, Renee Leone, Jason Mitchell, Mackenzie Morrison, Connor Thompson


Read More about Heneage


2018 Brimmer Scholars – Keeley Cronin and Emily Madden

Finalists: David Roberts, Kit Wendtland, Isaiah Rose, Keeley Cronin, Allison Strube, Allison Connell, Catherine DiSanto, Emily Madden


Read more about Cronin and Madden

keeley and emilyfinalistskeeleyemily

2017 Brimmer Scholar – Casey Terrell

Finalists: Casey Terrell, Max Rerucha, Catherine Young, Jenny Boulerice, Becky Farley, Megan Romano


Read more about Terrell


2016 Brimmer Scholar – Matthew Chudacoff

Finalists: Matthew Chudacoff, Evynne Fair, Al Walsh, Mikole Bede Soto, Megan Condon


2015 Brimmer Scholars – Melissa Burke and Maggie Schwartz

Finalists: Melissa Burke, Maggie Schwartz, Nick Bjorklund, James Peters


2014 Brimmer Scholar – Laurene Rogers

Finalists: Clayton Gregerson, Brianne Phillips, Kellsie Nienhuser, Laurene Rogers, Bailey Schreiber, Holly Tysse


2013 Brimmer Scholar – Kelianne Chamberlain

Finalists, Kelianne Chamberlain, Michael Fitzgerald, Grant Smith, Marlene Martin, Julianne Gern, Brian Fuller


2012 Brimmer Scholar – Alex Obrecht

Finalists, Marci Crank, Jeremy Gross, Alex Obrecht, Shannon Rogers, Christopher Sherwood, Thomas Szott


2011 Brimmer Scholars – Stephanie Holguin and Leah Schwartz

Finalists: Brynn Hvidston, Stephanie Holguin, Leah Schwartz, Leo Caselli, Laura Pontius, Stacia Berry


1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon