Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Scholarships|Department of Mathematics

The majority of the scholarships available from the University of Wyoming Mathematics department are awarded each spring in conjunction with Math Awareness Week and are nomination awards. There is no application process. Recipients are chosen by a scholarship committee, who considers such factors as: the number of math courses taken, department or math-education service, GPA, and financial need. The scholarship amounts vary each year but usually range from $300-$600.

William Bridges Memorial Award
To freshman or sophomore mathematics majors.

Theresa Britschgi Memorial Award
To UW mathematics majors. 

Dr. Ray J. Hanna Award
To mathematics majors from Wyoming who have grade point average sof 3.0 or better. Preference is given to students who have attended Wyoming community colleges.

Howard H. Heady Award
To sophomore, junior, or senior mathematics majors who are also Wyoming residents. 

Robert H. LaGrange Memorial Award
To UW mathematics majors. 

Greta Neubauer Mathematics Award
To a full-time, female student majoring in mathematics. Primary consideration is given to academic performance; financial need is also considered. 

Ottis H. Rechard Award

To an outstanding math major, preferably in the senior year.

Virindra and Gail Sehgal Mathematics Fund
To UW mathematics majors.

Les Shader Student Awards Endowment
To UW mathematics majors.

Catherine Gibbs Shaw Fund in Mathematics
Because of Ms. Shaw's generosity, numerous awards are available to students majoring in mathematics.

Palmer O. Steen Award

To UW mathematics majors who are also Wyoming residents.

Verne Varineau Scholarship
To mathematics or math education majors of junior standing with outstanding academic records.

Steven Lane Ashley Memorial Award
Graduate students only. Recipients must be United States citizens. Consideration is given to the student's academic record and work ethic.


Peter E. Skinner Award
The Peter E. Skinner Scholarship is currently our only scholarship that requires an application process. This award is given annually, prior to the fall semester and recipients must be able to demonstrate need based on FASFA requirements. Applications received by July 29 each year will be considered for award for the coming academic year period. Applications received after this date each year will be held for consideration at the next review period. To review terms and conditions of the scholarship and download an application, please go to Download Application!  Awards ar made for an academic year, however, a recipient must be actively enrolled in courses for each semester of the award period in order to claim the award for that period. 



Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon