Sept. 18, 2001 -- The University of Wyoming has established a memorial fund for the eight student-athletes killed in an automobile accident early Sunday morning.

The eight are Justin M. Lambert-Belanger, 20, Timmins, Ontario; Cody B. Brown, 21, Hudson, Colo.; Kyle N. Johnson, 20, Riverton; Joshua D. Jones, 22, Salem, Ore.; Morgan J. McLeland, 21, Gillette; Kevin L. Salverson, 19, Cheyenne; Nicholas J. Schabron, 20, Laramie; and Shane E. Shatto, 19, Douglas. All were members of UW's cross country and track teams.

"People from around the country have called and sent us e-mail asking if there was something they could do to honor the memories of these eight young men," says UW President Philip L. Dubois. "We have decided to establish a memorial fund that will be used to mark their lives and contributions to the University of Wyoming. How we use the fund will depend in large part on the level of donations received and the wishes of the families."

Individuals and organizations that wish to make tax-deductible contributions to the memorial fund may do so in payment to Memorial Fund for UW Student-Athletes and sent to: First Interstate Bank, c/o Bonnie Miller, P.O. Box 1307, Laramie, WY 82073; Community First National Bank, 222 Garfield, Laramie, WY 82070; or University of Wyoming Foundation, P.O. Box 3963, Laramie, WY 82071-3963.