Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing|College of Health Sciences

"Friends of the FWWSON" Plan Career Event

Friends of the FWWSON, faculty, administrators, and guests
"Friends of the FWWSON" Board members, administration, staff, and faculty meet to set priorities for 2012 school development . Back row: Professor Emeritus Fay Whitney, Assoc. Dean Susan Steiner, Dean Mary Burman, Foundation Major Gift Officer Andy Miller. Front row: Business Manager Denise Gable, new "Friends" member Dani Gifford, visiting graduate faculty: Barbara Phillips, Jenifer Thomas, Mary Anne Purtzer.

"Speed Career Mentoring" Event Set

On Friday, June 22nd, the Friends of the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing met with the school’s administration to discuss the school’s Development Plan and to set priorities for the upcoming year. One priority set by the Board this year is that of getting and keeping students and alumni engaged with the school and with each other. Plans are being made to invite alumni to a “speed career mentoring” event prior to Homecoming this fall. Students would rotate through a circle of alumni, who in turn will share about their nursing specialty and answer questions from interested students. So save the date – Friday, October 12, 2012 – and be watching for more information about this fun and informative affair.

"Friends" Board Defined

The “Friends” Board is composed of alumni who have a deep and continuing interest in the University of Wyoming Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing’s future. Board members include: Gaurdia Banister (’80), Mary Behrens (MS ’98), Marcia Dale (’60, and former dean), Danielle Gifford (’11), Edward Henry (BSN ’95, MS ’03), Tonya MacDonald (’02), Brett Skattum (08), Veronica Taylor (BSN '75; MS '90), and Fay Whitney (Professor Emeritus). For more information about the members of the Board, please check our “Friends” web page at

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon