Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing|College of Health Sciences

Leaving 2013

Below are links to spotlight articles over the past 12 months, summarizing an active year. Scroll down through the titles and pictures to get a "snapshot" of 2013. Click on the titles to read further.

"Marcia Dale Aspire Scholars Program" and support

The "Aspire" program was renamed the "Marcia Dale Aspire Scholars" program in Dale's honor. Click in the title to read about the program, created to develop leaders in nursing to advance the profession. The sidebar of that page notes an opportunity to honor Dr. Dale by supporting Aspire.

Student spotlights

Check out nursing student spotlights (Emily Bandel at Mayo Clinic; four senior students and their capstone experiences (Darcey Cowardin, Danielle Johnson, Amanda Klostermann, and Elizabeth Mondragon) and more...

Alumni career spotlights

Check out the 2013 additions to our Nursing Careers page on the web: Jean Charlotte Thomte Forseth ('64), Nursing Administration; Leslie Rozier ('90), FNP; Suzanne Meadows ('94), Nursing Regulation; Sean Ennist ('03), First Assist Nursing; and Sheyanne Chan Jones ('05), Pediatric Nurse Practitioner.

Nursing newsletters

If you did not receive the 2013 Alumni Newsletter, click in the title to read the issue devoted to nursing leadership; and check the side bar for the four 2013 online quarterly newsletters.

Karleen Goerke (BSN, '86) named 2013 Distinguished Alumna

Karleen Goerke (formerly Karleen Christian from Glenrock, WY) was named the 2013 Distinguished Alumna for the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing at the University of Wyoming.

Nursing businesses manager helps staff develop full potential

Individuals make the difference -- not only as nurses but as administrative staff working behind the scenes. Read about Denise Gable, Business Manager.

Diane Boyle named Wyoming Excellence Chair in Nursing

Diane Boyle, a prolific researcher and award-winning teacher, is the first excellence chair at the FWWSON. Read more about this exceptional woman by clicking on the title link.

What we learned from Dr. Loretta Ford

As a conclusion to Wyoming's 2013 "Nurse Practitioner Week" the school reflected on the May 23 visit from the co-founder of the nurse practitioner profession, Dr. Loretta "Lee" Ford.

New faculty & staff in 2013

Please click on the title to read about our new faculty and staff for 2013: Kimberly Bois, Diane Boyle, Shelly Fischer, Marilyn Hall, and Ann Wislowski.

Retired faculty 2013

Three treasured, award-winning faculty retired from the School of Nursing in 2013. All three continue to be investing in their nursing passions in "retirement". Read further about Anne Bowen, Carrie Deselms, and Pamala Larsen.

In memory of Donna Diers

Native of Sheridan, Wyoming, nursing "Living Legend", and Yale School of Nursing Professor Donna Diers died in February 2013. Diers is remembered for her contributions to the profession of nursing. UW awarded an honorary degree to Diers in 2012. Read about her accomplishments by clicking on the title.

In memory of Debora Retz, MS, RN, BC, CVN-III

University of Wyoming Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing faculty member Debora Retz passed away at her home in Cheyenne, Wyoming on February 13, 2013 following a courageous battle with cancer. Retz was an assistant lecturer at the school since 2008. Read on for a brief history.

In memory of Elizabeth "Betsy" Wiest

Former nursing faculty member Elizabeth "Betsy" Wiest passed away on Wednesday, May 22, 2013, at her home in Laramie, Wyoming. Dr. Wiest was on the faculty at the University of Wyoming Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing from 1972 through 2002. Please click on the title for more information.

2013 faculty & staff awards

Six University of Wyoming Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing faculty and staff were recognized by the university, college, or school in 2013. Click on the title to read about these impressive individuals.

"Advanced Practice Nursing" awards 2013: Kidner and Siegel

For the last six years, the UW NP program has presented an annual award to a singular leader in advanced practice nursing. But an important historical event in NP history occurred on January 1, 2013 that encouraged the program to recognize two special leaders: Maria Kidner and Marsha Siegel. Read on to find out why!

"Preceptor of the Year" awards 2013

Congratulations to Aaron Wright and Erin Kraus, preceptors of the year chosen from the BRAND and Basic BSN programs respectively. Read what their nominating students said about them by clicking on the title and choosing "Preceptor Recognition Awards".

"Community Partners" awards 2013

Click in the title to read about the Sheridan County Public Health, the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Cheyenne, and the Wyoming Medical Center in Casper - our 2013 Community Partners!

Nursing news link

Anything not noted in above stories can be found in this 2013 (Nursing) Department News archive.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader