Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW
uwyo from above

Physics & Astronomy

College of Arts and Sciences

2019 Department News

Cristilyn Gardner, a first-year doctoral student in physics with a focus in astronomy, was among five UW students who received NSF Graduate Research Fellowships.

2018 Department News

Connor O’Malley left us at the end of December.  He has taught most of the algebra-based general physics for us for the last two and half years.  We thank him for his service and wish him the best.

Congratulations to Jessica Sutter, Dylan Kloster and Riley Jordan.  Their team was selected as participants in the 2018 John P. Ellbogen Faculty Summer Institute on Developing Research through the Scholarship of Teacing and Learning.  The Summer Institute was held May 21-23, 2018.

Congratulations to Hannah and the SPS leadership team (Nick Trimble, Aman Kar, Ryan Parziale, and Jesse Winner) for earning the designation of a Society of Physics Students Notable Chapter!

Noah Cowper and Logan Jensen were selected as the 2018 Outstanding Graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Jesse Winner, William Scougale, Anh Nguyen and Bryant Jerome were awarded Cinnamon Undergraduate Scholarship.

Brad Lyke, David King and Riley Jordan received Outstanding TA awards.  

A&S Board of Visitors Student Service awards were presented to Dani Schurhammer and Jordan Turner.

Aman Kar was selected to receive the SPS Leadership Scholarship.

Graduate Student Aaron Wang received an Outstanding Poster Award at the Front Range Advanced Magnetics Symposium (FRAMS) held in Colorado Springs, CO in August. 


Contact Us

Physics & Astronomy

1000 E. University, Dept 3905

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: 307-766-6150

Fax: 307-766-2652


Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon