Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Political Science Department

College of Arts & Sciences

Fred Homer Memorial PrizeFred Homer

The Fred Homer Prize is bestowed to a student, undergraduate or graduate, at the University of Wyoming for exceptional performance on a paper relating to political philosophy in its applications to the life well led, government, society, and citizenship, written during the previous calendar year.  Papers considered for the Fred Homer Prize may originate in courses in Political Science, American Studies, Philosophy, the University Honors Program, or other appropriate disciplines; as master's theses or other capstone projects in a Master's degree program in Political Science, American Studies, Philosophy, or other appropriate disciplines; or as original research projects conducted for the Fred Homer Prize.

The winner of the competition will receive a monetary award; will make a presentation to faculty and students; and will be honored at the annual Political Science Awards Banquet held late in the spring.

The Political Science department urges students to apply as way of honoring our late colleague, Fred Homer, who took such an impassioned interest in mentoring students.

Previous Winners

Gordon Dobbs

The 2014 award recipient was Gordon Dobbs with a paper entitled The Wealth of a Nation: How Alexander Hamilton Built the American Economy.



Haley Barton

The 2013 award recipient was Haley Barton with a paper entitled Rousseau's Sexual Contract.



Travis Machalek

The 2012 award recipient was Travis Machalek with a paper entitled Madison's Extended Sphere and Modernity.



Lianna Martin

The 2011 award recipient was Lianna Martin with a paper entitled Invisible Man and Political Theory: Ellison's Critique of Traditional African-American Political Thought.



Carrie Murthy

The 2010 award recipient was Carrie Murthy with a paper entitled The Role and Limits of Education in a Multicultural Liberal-Democratic Society.



Mel Owen


The 2009 award recipient was Mel Owen with a paper focusing on Federalist U.S. Constitutional arguments.

Kaitlin Parady

The 2008 award recipient was Katelyn Parady with a paper examining Green Citizenship and the Public's Participation



David Kiren

The 2007 award recipient was David Kiren with a paper discussing Alexis de Tocqueville and Equality



Share This Page:

Contact Us

Political Science Program

Dept. 3197 | A&S 208

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071

Phone: (307) 766-6484

Fax: (307) 766-6771


Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon