Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Content

Roy J. Shlemon Center for Quaternary Studies|People

Contact Us

Roy J. Shlemon Center for Quaternary Studies
1000 E. University Ave.
Laramie, WY 82071
Email: bshuman@uwyo.edu

People in the Center


Anthropology

Jim Ahern

Jim Ahern
Associate Professor | jahern@uwyo.edu

Biological Anthropology, Human Evolution, Europe, Africa, Neandertals and Modern Human Origins, Hominin Origins and Australopithecines, Human Variation, Sexual Dimorphism, Small, Fragmentary Fossil Samples, Systematics, Species Concepts Variation: Inter- and Intra-specific

Robert Kelly Robert L. Kelly
Professor, Chair, and Director of Frison Institute, Archaeology | RLKELLY@uwyo.edu

Paleoindian Archaeology, Ancient Human Responses to Climate Change,
Human Behavioral Ecology

Marcel Kornfeld Marcel Kornfeld
Professor, Archaeology| anpro1@uwyo.edu

Cultural Evolution, Forager Subsistence--specifically plant and small animal resources, technology--especially chipped stone tool remodeling strategies, regional distributions archeology, archeology of gender, peopling of North America and Paleoindian prehistory, archeology of closed sites, field methodsespecially computerized data collection

Mary Lou Larson Mary Lou Larson
Professor and Associate Director, George C. Frison Institute | mlarson@uwyo.edu

Spatial distribution and variation of surface archaeology across the landscape using geographic information systems; Chipped stone technological organization, particularly debitage and minimum analytical nodules; Understanding Rocky Mountain and Plains prehistory through analysis of intensively excavated stratified archaeological sites; The investigation of early to mid-Holocene house pit structures throughout the west; Paleoindian to Archaic transition in the Rockies and the Plains

Charles Reher Charles A. Reher
Associate Professor and Museum Curator | arrow@uwyo.edu

Research and teaching in Northwest Plains archaeology, especially the study of Late Prehistoric/Plains Indian cultures and the archaeology of Early Historic Frontier expansion, bison ecology and faunal analysis; site dating and paleoclimatic reconstruction using dendrochronology; hunter-gatherer adaptation in semiarid environments; ethnobotany; geoarchaeology; archaeological applications of remote sensing; computer applications of statistical analysis and other quantitative techniques; computerized digital imagery analysis; museum display techniques.

Todd Surovell Todd Surovell
Associate Professor | surovell@uwyo.edu

Human Behavioral Ecology, New World Colonization, Lithic Technology, Human Demography, Subsistence, Pleistocene Extinctions, Geoarchaeology, Archaeological Modeling

Nicole Waguespack Nicole Waguespack
Associate Professor | nmwagues@uwyo.edu

Hunter-Gatherer Ecology, Paleoindian Archaeology, Zooarchaeology, Behavioral Ecology, Subsistence Strategies, Pleistocene Extinctions

Botany

Mark Lyford Mark Lyford
Director, General Biology Program | mahler@uwyo.edu
Elise Pendall Elise Pendall
Associate Professor | pendall@uwyo.edu

Geography

Carl Legleiter Carl Legleiter
Assistant Professor | cleglei1@uwyo.edu

Fluvial Geomorphology, Sediment Transport and Channel Change, Remote Sensing of Rivers, Geostatistics

No Pic Thomas Minckley
Assistant Professor | minckley@uwyo.edu

Palynology, Vegetation History, Paleoecology, and Paleoclimatology

JJ Shinker Jacqueline J. Shinker
Associate Professor | jshinker@uwyo.edu

Synoptic and Dynamic Climatology, Environmental Change, Paleoclimatology, Visualization

Geology and Geophysics

Mark Clementz Mark T. Clementz
Associate Professor | mclemen1@uwyo.edu

Stable Isotope Ecology, Megafauna, Paleodietary Reconstruction, Ancient Food Webs and Trophic Level

Carol Frost Carol D. Frost
Professor & Vice President of Special Projects| frost@uwyo.edu

Isotope Geology, Energy Impacts on Environment, Carbon Sequestration

Paul Heller Paul L. Heller
Professor & Department Head | heller@uwyo.edu

Sedimentary Geology, Basin Analysis, Tectonics and Sedimentation

Neil Humphrey Neil F. Humphrey
Professor | neil@uwyo.edu

Glaciology, Geomorphology, Cold Regions Hydrology, Landscape Modeling

Brandon McElroy Brandon McElroy
Assistant Professor | bmcelroy@uwyo.edu

Modern Sedimentary Processes, Quantifying Rates of Landscape Evolution, Fluvial and Submarine Channel Systems, Physical Habitats in Fluvial & Aquatic Environments

Clifford Riebe Clifford S. Riebe
Assistant Professor | criebe@uwyo.edu

Landscape Erosion and Weathering, Cosmogenic Isotopes, Effects of Humans and Natural Processes on Species/Habitat Linkages

Bryan Shuman Bryan N. Shuman
Associate Professor | bshuman@uwyo.edu
Director of the Roy J. Shlemon Center in Quaternary Studies

Abrupt Climate Change, Impacts on Water, Impacts on Ecosystems, Lake-Level Fluctuations, Vegetation History

Art Snoke Arthur W. Snoke
Professor | snoke@uwyo.edu

Structural Geology, Neotectonics, Geologic Mapping, Fault-related Rocks

Ken Sims Kenneth W. W. Sims
Associate Professor | bmcelroy@uwyo.edu

Isotope Geology, Volcanology

Ye Zhang Ye Zhang
Assistant Professor | yzhang9@uwyo.edu

Geological Modeling, Fluid Flow Simulation, Hydrogeology, Geostatistics, Scientific Computing

Renewable Resources

Scott Miller Scott Miller
Associate Professor | snmiller@uwyo.edu

 

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming
 
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us