

Ag college staff, faculty members receive honors

Outstanding general and professional staff personnel and faculty members received honors during the ninth-annual staff and faculty recognition program in December.

Randy Anderson, senior computer support specialist in the Office of Communications and Technology, received the Dean's Outstanding Professional Staff honor. Also nominated for the honor was Mark Davidson, executive computer support specialist, Department of Veterinary Sciences.

Joleen Pantier, senior accounting associate in the Wyoming Agricultural Experiment Station (AES), was named the Dean's Outstanding General Staff award recipient. Also nominated were Kathleen Bertoncelj, senior office associate, AES; Lanny Hansen, accounting associate, and Gail Lamb, senior accounting associate, Ag Business Office; Marie Hanson, senior office associate, UW Cooperative Extension Service (CES) office; Lorraine Harrison, senior accounting associate, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics; Trish Hysong, senior office assistant, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences; and Ronda Whitman, office associate, Office of Communications and Technology.

The dean's award recipients each received \$500 and a plaque.

A subcommittee of the Ag Council selected the Lawrence Meeboer Outstanding Teacher Award and the Outstanding Adviser Award recipients. Each received \$500. Professor Steve Horn in the Department of Animal Science received the outstanding teacher award. Nominated were Assistant Professor Brenda Alexander and Professor William Murdock, Department of Animal Science; Associate Professor Don McLeod and Professor Dale Menkhaus, Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics; Assistant Professor Rik Smith, Department of Plant Sciences; Associate Professor Scott Miller, Department of Renewable Resources; and Assistant Professor Christine Wade, Department of Family and Consumer Sciences.

(Continued on page 2)



Randy Anderson, center, received the Dean's Outstanding Professional Staff award. Pictured are Dean Frank Galey, left, Anderson, and Mark Davidson, also a nominee for the award.



Joleen Pantier, second from left, received the Dean's Outstanding General Staff Award. Those nominated and the dean include, from left, Trish Hysong, Pantier, Dean Frank Galey, Lorraine Harrison, Marie Hanson, Gail Lamb, Kathleen Bertoncelj, Ronda Whitman, and Lanny Hansen.

(307) 766-2540

Ag college staff, faculty members receive honors (Continued from page 1)

Outstanding Adviser

Assistant Professor Min Du, Department of Animal Science, received the Outstanding Adviser Award. Also nominated were Alexander, McLeod and Smith.

Outstanding Educator

Professor Doug Hixon, head of the Department of Animal Science, received the College of Agriculture Outstanding Educator Award. Also nominated were Dallas Mount, UW CES educator, and Senior Lecturer Dave Wilson from the Department of Plant Sciences.

Awards announced earlier this year were also noted. They include the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Outstanding Faculty Teaching Award, Dave Wilson, and the Outstanding Graduate Assistant Award, Jordana LaFantasie, Department of Plant Sciences. Top Profs named by Mortar Board are Professor Dan Rule, Department of Animal Science; Associate Professor Pamela Langer, department head and Associate Professor Mark Stayton, and Assistant Lecturer Rachel Watson, Department of Molecular Biology; Associate Professor Stephen Herbert, head of the Department of Plant Sciences; and Assistant Professor Gerard Andrews and Professor E. Lee Belden, Department of Veterinary Sciences.



Min Du, who was unable to attend the awards ceremony, received the Outstanding Adviser Award as chosen by the Ag Council. Pictured are, from left, Mallory Zimmerer, Ag Council treasurer, and Geneva Good, Ag Council vice president, and nominees Don McLeod, Brenda Alexander, and Rik Smith.



Steve Horn, third from left, received the Lawrence Meeboer
Outstanding Teacher Award, as selected by the Ag Council.
Ag Council representatives and those nominated are, from left,
Mallory Zimmerer, Ag Council treasurer, and Geneva Good, Ag
Council vice president, Horn, Brenda Alexander, Rik Smith, Don
McLeod, Christine Wade, and Scott Miller. Not pictured Dale
Menkhaus, William Murdock.



Professor Doug Hixon, right, head of the Department of Animal Science, received the Outstanding Educator Award from Jim Wangberg, director of the Office of Academic and Student Programs, and associate dean. Also nominated, but not present, were Dallas Mount and Dave Wilson.