Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

A Landscape Discussion on Energy Law in Wyoming

School of Energy Resources

College of Law's Center for Energy Law and Resources in the Rockies

Conference Information

The Landscape Discussion on Energy Law in Wyoming took place on Wednesday, November 13, 2013 in Laramie, Wyoming.  The conference convened 180 attorneys, scholars, government agency representatives and industry stakeholders to hear presentations and engage in discussion on relevant energy topics in Wyoming and the world.  The conference was a collaborative effort of the College of Law's Center for Law and Energy Resources in the Rockies (CLERR) and the UW School of Energy Resources (SER).

College of Law's Center for Energy Law and Resources in the Rockies

Agenda & Conference Booklet

Click here for a conference agenda 

Click here for a conference abstract and bio booklet

Speaker Presentations

8:00am - 10:00am

  • Dave Freudenthal, Former Governor of Wyoming, Crowell & Moring LLP, Conference Host
  • Jacquelyn L. Bridgeman, Interim Dean, UW College of Law
  • Mark Northam, Director, UW School of Energy Resources
  • Mark Gordon, Wyoming Treasurer: State of Wyoming Welcome
  • Bob Perciasepe, Deputy Administrator, EPA: A Federal Government Perspective on Energy Policy
  • Bradford Nielson, General Counsel, Global Litigation, Shell International BV: A Global Perspective on Energy Law & Policy

10:20am - 11:15am

  • Rob Mathes, Bjork Lindley Little PC: Moderator
  • Jim Martin, Beatty & Wozniak, PC: GHG Regulation
  • Andrew Emrich, Holland & Hart LLP: Coal Leasing Litigation
  • Mary Throne, Throne Law Firm and Wyoming Legislator: Wyoming’s GHG Initiatives

11:20am - 12:30pm

  • Lynne Boomgaarden, Crowley Fleck PLLP: Moderator
  • Todd Parfitt, Director, Wyoming DEQ: Wyoming’s Approach to Hydraulic Fracturing Regulation
  • Larry Claypool, Deputy State Director, Minerals and Lands, Wyoming BLM : BLM Fracturing Regulations
  • Kathleen Sgamma, Vice President of Government & Public Affairs, Western Energy Alliance: Hydraulic Fracturing Policy and State Primacy
  • Holly Propst, Policy Director, Western Governors’ Association: Western States Perspective

Keynote Speech

  • Bob Sternberg, President, University of Wyoming

1:35pm - 2:45pm

  • Mark Northam, Director, School of Energy Resources: Moderator
  • Mary Frontczak, Americas, State Government Relations and Communications, Peabody Energy Corp: Coal Ports
  • Rich Walje, President and CEO, Rocky Mountain Power at PacificCorp: The Regulated Industry View
  • Mark Gordon, Wyoming Treasurer: The Financial Market View of the Future of Coal

2:50pm - 4:00pm

  • Dave Searle, Manager of Government Affairs, Marathon Oil: Moderator
  • Randy Bolles, Manager, Regulatory Affairs, Devon Energy: Opportunities for an improved development environment
  • Tim Considine, Director, UW Center for Energy Economics and Public Policy: The Economic Marketability Perspective
  • Bob Cornelius, Senior Vice President, Commercial Development, Government Affairs and Project Management, Denbury Resources: CO2 Pipeline Development
  • Brian Jefferies, Executive Director, Wyoming Pipeline Authority: Wyoming’s CO2 Pipeline Corridor Initiative and Oil Infrastructure

4:00pm - 4:40pm

  • Richard McGinity, Acting Provost, University of Wyoming
  • Shawn Reese, Policy Director, Office of Governor Mead
  • Drew Perkins, Wyoming Legislature
  • Mark Northam, Director, UW School of Energy Resources: Closing Remarks
  • Sam Kalen, Professor and Director of CLERR, UW College of Law: Closing Remarks

CLE Credits

If you were in attendance of the conference you are welcome to apply with the Wyoming Bar Association and the Colorado Bar Association for CLE credits. The WBA and CBA will award 6.25 CLE credits for participation in the conference.  Credits will not be given directly by the conference organizers, please contact the associations directly.

Steering Committee

Lynne Boomgaarden, Crowley Fleck PLLP

Dennis Ellis, Anadarko Petroleum

Richard Garrett, Wyoming Outdoor Council

Paul Hickey, Hickey & Evans, LLP

Greg Johnson, Patton Boggs LLP. President of the Rocky Mountain Chapter of the Energy Bar Association

Sam Kalen, College of Law Professor, Director of the Center for Law and Energy Resources in the Rockies

Ryan Lance, Director of the Wyoming Office of State Lands and Investments

Rep. Tom Lubnau, Lubnau Law Office PC

John MacPherson, MacPherson, Kelley & Thompson LLC , University of Wyoming Trustee

John Masterson, Rothgerber Johnson & Lyons, LLP

Delissa Minnick, Wyoming Bureau of Land Management

Shawn Reese, Governor Mead’s Office

Scott Regan, Encana Corporation

Larry Wolfe, Holland and Hart LLP


If you have questions about this conference please contact Temple Leigh Stoellinger at

Share This Page:

Contact Us

School of Energy Resources

Dept. 3012

1000 E. University Ave.

Laramie, WY 82071

Fax: 307-766-6701


SER Logo
Find us on Facebook (Link opens a new window) Find us on Twitter (Link opens a new window) Find us on YouTube (Link opens a new window)

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon