Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

News Archive|Department of Theatre and Dance

UW Students Claim Top Honors at Regional Theatre Festival

Feb. 25, 2009 -- University of Wyoming Department of Theatre and Dance faculty and students received top honors at last week's Region VII Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (KCACTF) and Northwest Drama Conference (NWDC), held at the University of Idaho in Moscow, Idaho.

In the KCACTF Region VII Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition, sophomore Katie Stearns of Cheyenne was selected as first alternate and also picked up the Region VII KCACTF Mark Twain Comedy Acting Award. Senior Lindsay Neinast of Arlington, Texas, was awarded the NAPAT Regional Classical Acting Award. UW actors have won the regional Irene Ryan competition 12 times since 1990, which is a national record. 

Senior Jaime Cruz of Evanston was the Region VII One-Act Play winner for his piece "Dead in the Kitchen." Randi Million of Laramie was the Region VII National Playwriting Program (NPP) Ten-Minute Play Competition Winner for "Idiot's Guide." UW playwrights have won the regional one-act playwriting competition six times and the ten-minute playwriting competition four times since 2000. 

Of the eight KCACTF regions nationwide, four regional one-act play winners and four 10-minute play winners will be selected to compete in April's national festival at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C.

American studies graduate student Drew Lyness of Shropshire, United Kingdom, was the One-Act Play runner-up with "Body of An American." He also won the NWDC NW Playwrights Alliance Award for this play.

Junior Steven Rotramel of Greeley, Colo., was the Region VII KCACTF Costume Design Award winner for his work on "Rabbit Hole" and will go on to compete at the national festival in April. Assistant professor Cecelia Aragon received a Region VII Faculty Excellence Recognition as a University Scholar.

Katie Stearns of Cheyenne is shown in a scene from last summer's comedy "Cockeyed." She won the Mark Twain Comedy Acting Award and was first alternate in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship competition. (UW Photo)

Posted on Wednesday, February 25, 2009


Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader // Accessibility Accessibility information icon