THE UNIVERSITY OF WYOMING MINUTES OF THE TRUSTEES

June 4, 1928

For the confidential information of the Board of Trustee

MADE BY BAKER-VAWTER CO. ---

The regular annual meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Wyoming was called to order at 3:30 p. m., by President Holliday. The following members answered roll call: Mr. Geddes, Mr. Elliott, Mrs. Haggard, Mr. Schwoob, Mr. Lynn, Governor Emerson, Mrs. Morton and Dr. Crane.

The minutes of the March meeting and the intervening meetings of the Executive Committee were approved as read.

Dr. Hultz of the Animal Husbandry Department came before the Board with a request to show livestock in Omaha in addition to our usual showing at Denver. Upon the motion of Mr. Lynn, seconded by Mr. Geddes and carried, the request was granted with the understanding that the University would be put to no greater expense.

Dr. Crane then presented the following list of candidates for degrees and diplomas with the recommendation that the same be awarded. Upon the motion of Mr. Geddes, seconded by Mrs. Haggard and carried, they were so awarded.

THE COLLEGE OF LIBERAL ARTS DIVISION OF LETTERS AND SCIENCES

Robert Wolfe Spalding

Master of Arts Anna Thompson Winecoff

Horace Davis Thomas

Master of Science Mark G. Richmond

Bachelor of Arts - With Honor

Claudis Hon Dorothy Sue Pearson Helen Svenson

Helen Tune

Bachelor of Arts

George E. Baker Jerry Y. Bell Anna Lucile Burns I. J. Burns Lloyd P. Collenburg Donald McHenry Mary Margaret Mahoney Marion Karling Miller Cecil Morgan Arthur Herbert Munson Roll Goll

Stock Show

Degrees

Bachelor of Arts - Cont'd.

Beatrice M. Cross Dorothy DeArmon

MADE BY BAKER-YAWTER CO. 1-1

Florence Gertrude Lee Fields Dorothy Evelyn Finkbiner Ralph Immell Orin Walter Kepford Donovan M. McCarty Mary McCarthy

Marcus Robert Ogden Lavonne Pfeifer Hubert Stanley Post John Wesley Sampier Wayne F. Scott Wedgewood Thompson Mildred Twidwell Thelma P. Walton

June 4

Warren Hutchinson Winter

DIVISION OF COMMERCE

Bachelor of Commercial Sciences - With Honor Clare Mundell

Bachelor of Commerical Sciences

Cecil LeRoy Centlivere Doris May Ewers Kenneth Wilson Flora Margeruite Johnson

Marie Mathew Adella Sherard Lillian Sparks Josephine Watt

Herbert Arthur Lebert

Secretarial Diploma Leona M. Oeland

Nurse's Diploma Julia I. Hooker

COLLEGE OF AGRICULTURE DIVISION OF AGRICULTURE

Master of Science

Glen Hartman

Frank P. Lane

Bachelor of Science

Clarence A. Best Foster Blodgett Jack D. Dinwiddie J. Sheldon Glasgow

Anton Fellhauer

William M. Hawken Richard M. Leake, Jr. Ivan Mayfield James Leo Paschal

DIVISION OF HOME ECONOMICS

Bachelor of Science

Marion Griswold Helen Marie Hance Margaret R. McClellan Ura Bess Munson Gayle Neubauer Cathern M. Prahl MADE BY BAKER-VAWTER CO. ----

George Bright

Lawrence Ormsby

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING DIVISION OF CIVIL ENGINEERING

> Master of Science Reynold A. Seaverson

Bachelor of Science

James H. O'Roke

DIVISION OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Bachelor of Science

Calvin Beagle Clark F. Biesemeier

Arthur G. Mundell

DIVISION OF PETROLEUM ENGINEERING Bachelor of Science - With Honor Mark Taylor, Jr.

Bachelor of Science

Theodore E. Zadra

DIVISION OF MINING ENGINEERING

Bachelor of Science Anthony N. Bennett

COLLEGE OF EDUCATION DIVISION OF SECONDARY EDUCATION

> Master of Arts Thomas Joseph Kelly

Bachelor of Arts - With Honor

Alice Jennings

Jean F. Mabee

Bachelor of Arts Jessie Beebe

Verda Crone Berggren Marlin Thatcher Kurtz T. Eldon Boyd Mildred E. Metzler George H. Burton Kathryn Tuley Snow

Floyd B. Foreman

Bachelor of Science

Pearl Green Doris E. Lineaweaver Wallace McConnell Ruth Prout

Josephine Russell Mary Agnes Whelan Charles H. Wilson Clifford E. Wilson

Frank King

	DIVISION OF ELEMENTARY EDUCAT	TION
	Bachelor of Arts	Sarah Townsend Holmes
Clara Mae Hickerson	Normal Diploma	Dalan lownsend holmes
Helen Dolores Budd	Mormar Diproma	Osa Mae Lemaster
Edna Bunting		Lois Marie Lovercheck
Ress Burris		Georgie Musgrave
Mary Ethel Caldwell		Esther Olafson
Vesta L. Carlson		Louise Painter
Edna Carolyn Cole		Lera Mae Payne
Vee Cooper		Agnes Dorothy Pearson
Helen Cummings		Mildred C. Peterson
Edna M. Dickson	4	Rose L. Potochnik
Mary Drebick		Mary Frances Quinn
Cora E. Ellis		Doris Robinson
Ruth Engstrum		Frances Leigh Rush
Leta G. Falkenstein		Bertha Mae Sillason
Reta Mae Falkenstei:		Ruth Slichter
Clara Fliegner		Leona Tate
Foldie Freshour		Anna E. Terry
Mary Gaber		Miriam Thomas
Evelyn Margaret Goe	tz	Orlena May Ward
Alma Rosamund Grime	S	Margaret Anna Wemple
Alice Guthrie		Stella Woody
Alice Hill		Mildred Young
Alta J. Hill		Norma Young
	DIVISION OF RURAL EDUCATION	<u> </u>
	Bachelor of Arts - With Hono Edith Morgan Mundell	<u>or</u>
and the second second	Diploma	
Catherine L. Harris		Ethel Holmes
	THE LAW S CHOOL	
	Bachelor of Laws - With Honor	
Edgar Allan Blancha:	rd	Hazel Bowman Kerper
	Ralph E. Conwell	
	SUMMARY OF GRADUATES	
Más	ster of Arts	. 4
	ster of Science	. 5
	chelor of Arts - With Honor	. 5 . 7 . 1
Bad	chelor of Science - With Honor .	
	chelor of Com.Sci With Honor .	
Bad	chelor of Arts	. 38
Bac	chelor of Science	. 31
Bar	chelor of Commercial	. 9
		3
No	rmal Diplomas	. 44

MADE BY BAKER-VAWTER CO. ->->

June 4

SUMMARY OF GRADUATES - Cont'd.

Rural Diplomas . Nurses Diploma . . Secretarial Diploma. Total

Dr. Crane then mentioned his efforts to secure a Radio Station for the campus. Mr. Schwoob moved that Dr. Crane continue his efforts to acquire this station. This motion was seconded by Mr. Lynn and carried.

Appointments

The Board approved the following appointments:

Miss Lucille Snow, Instructor in Art, at a salary of \$2,200. per year, effective September 1, 1928. Miss Snow will succeed Mrs. McAtee.

Mr. Leo Paschal, Instructor in Animal Husbandry and Assistant Animal Husbandman, at a salary of \$2,000. per year, effective July 1, 1928.

Mr. James S. Wiant, Instructor in Agronomy and Assistant Agronomist in Plant Pathology, at a salary of \$2,400. per year, effective July 1, 1928. Mr. Wiant will succeed . Mr. Bonnett, resigned.

The Board then discussed the actions of Coach Clark since receiving the offer for renewal of contract made him by Dr. Crane May 14. The offer to Mr. Clark was a seasonal contract as Assistant Coach for the months of January, February and March at \$1200. It was the consensus of opinion of the Board that Mr. Clark's attitude and conduct in giving unnecessary publicity to this offer have shown that he will not and cannot accept it in the spirit it was intended and render cooperative effective service. Upon the motion of Mr. Lynn it was voted to withdraw the above mentioned offer of contract. This motion was seconded by Mr. Geddes and unanimously carried.

Mr. Fuller then presented his report. Upon the motion of Mr. Schwoob Mr. Fuller was authorized to purchase 145 acres adjoining the

Goach Clark

Land

MADE BY BAKER-VAWTER CO.---

June 4

town of Afton in Star Valley known as the Burton place, the price to be heporcel \$14,500. under deferred payment plan as outlined in the report. This motion was seconded by Mr. Geddes and carried.

Dr. Crane then presented the final drafts of the budget for the coming year and outlined our financial situation. Upon the motion of Mr. Schwoob all of the University Budgets received final approval subject to such revisions as may later become necessary. This motion was seconded by Mr. Geddes and carried.

Election of officers was the final matter to come up at this meeting. Mrs. Haggard nominated Mr. Holliday for re-election as President. Mr. Schwoob moved that nominations be closed. Mr. Elliott suggested that all of the present officers be included in this motion and re-elected. This motion was put by Mrs. Morton and unanimously carried. The salaries of Mr. Fuller and Mr. Smith to be the same for the coming year.

There being no further business the Board adjourned sine die.

Budget

Election of Officers

Adjourn ment

Fay E. Smith Secretary