Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Powell, Laramie and Wheatland Teams Win Engineering Competition at UW

February 29, 2008 — Teams from Powell, Laramie and Wheatland high schools won their respective divisions in a statewide engineering problem-solving contest at the University of Wyoming.

There were four winners for Part I of the competition. Powell placed first in the Small School Varsity, Wheatland placed first in the Small School Junior Varsity, and Laramie placed first in both the Large School Varsity and Large School Junior Varsity. Part II is scored nationally and scores are not yet determined.

Each year, the UW College of Engineering and Applied Science hosts the JETS/TEAMS (Junior Engineering Technical Society/Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics and Science) competition. High school students across the state compete as teams in an open-book, two-part collaborative problem-solving test. Nationwide, more than 20,000 high school students participate each year.

JETS promotes interest in engineering, science, mathematics, and technology, and is dedicated to providing real-world engineering and problem-solving experience to high school students. The programs challenge students to discover engineering in high school. JETS programs and resources get students involved with engineering and preparing for the future.

Members of the first-place Powell varsity are Matt Cain, Lyle Coguill, Preston Eckerdt, Scott Kitchen, Tyler McIntosh, Trude Mingus, Ben Norberg and Kenny Smith. Thom Miller and Russ Schwahn are the team's coaches.

Members of the first-place Wheatland junior varsity are Ty Boettcher, Kyle Lenz, Lance Sanderson and Tyler Lower. The team's coach is Peggy Jones.

Members of the first-place Laramie varsity are Dan Barker, Mike Poulos, Stephen Michel, Chris Jenkins, Josh McConnell, Marshall Moore, Han Li and Srihari Sritharan. The first-place Laramie junior varsity members are Stephen Bagley, Colin Longhurst, Charles Ogden, Eric Parish, Sara Peck, Rebecca Thorseness, Jacob VanBaalen and Jesse Zhou.

The coach for the Laramie teams is Pete Kontaxes.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader