Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Students Elect President, Senators

April 10, 2008 — University of Wyoming students have elected Kelsey Day of Cheyenne, a senior in Spanish and international studies, as president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming (ASUW).

Day will preside over the student government that oversees a budget of more than $1 million, including funding for a variety of student programs. She also will serve as an ex officio member of the UW Board of Trustees.

Jonathan McBride of Cheyenne, a junior majoring in business administration, was elected vice president.

Chris Carroll, chair of the ASUW elections committee, said 20 percent of the UW students voted in the ASUW general election, held online this week.

"In general, we are very pleased with the overall election turnout," he says. "We would always like to see more, but we are happy."

ASUW adviser and Assistant Dean of Students Matthew Caires adds, "We in the UW administration are excited to work with the incoming student executives and senators."

The new ASUW senators will serve on various committees and represent their colleges in budgetary and policy matters affecting all UW students.

Senators, listed by hometown and colleges they represent, are:

Cape May, N.J. -- Caitlin Wallace, Arts and Sciences.
Casper -- Paul Gallegos, Arts and Sciences.
Castle Rock, Colo. -- Travis Beach, Arts and Sciences; Jonathan Ingebrigsten, Business.
Centennial, Colo. -- Andrew Ssekajja, Health Sciences.
Cheyenne -- Jennifer Beman, Engineering; Amy Berry, Agriculture; Jessie Berry, Agriculture; Lucas Cirbo, Arts and Sciences; Matt Fournier, Arts and Sciences; Shari Gilbert, Engineering; Abby Lewis, Business; Christopher MacLellan, Engineering; Liz Rader, Arts and Sciences; Diana Wilson, Health Sciences.
Daniel -- Rives White, Agriculture.
Douglas -- Rachel Johnston, Business.
Evanston -- Delia Hansen, Education.
Green River -- Dixie Thoman, Arts and Sciences; Paul Weaver, Arts and Sciences.
Pinedale -- Keely Knapp, Arts and Sciences.
Seoul, South Korea -- Choong Kim, Arts and Sciences.
Torrington -- Benjamin Kinney, Law.
Wheatland -- Marcus Catchpole, Engineering; Brianna Jones, Arts and Sciences.
Wright -- Shannon Thomas, Health Sciences.

Kelsey Day and Jonathan McBride, both from Cheyenne, were elected president and vice president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming (ASUW).

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader