Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Wyoming Students Benefit from Rocky Mountain Power Foundation Grant

December 19, 2008 — The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation recently awarded $34,000 to the University of Wyoming for education and research programs and scholarships for entering freshmen.

The gift will in part fund 12 $1,000 scholarships for freshmen from various Wyoming communities. Rocky Mountain Power and the Rocky Mountain Power Foundation have gifted $530,550 to UW since 1991.

"Not only are we supporting students with limited means, we're encouraging greater participation in science, math and business fields that directly impact our local communities," says Lilisa Hall, Rocky Mountain Power Foundation executive director. "We're pleased to help sow the seeds for a more talented workforce."

The grant also supports other campus programs, including the College of Engineering and Applied Science Senior Design Symposium, Ruckelshaus Institute and Haub School of Environment and Natural Resources, UW Art Museum, UW Center for Volunteer Service and the UW/Casper College Center.

The Rocky Mountain Power Foundation is part of the PacifiCorp Foundation, one of the nation's largest utility-endowed foundations. The foundation was created in 1988 by PacifiCorp, an electric utility serving 1.7 million customers in six Western states as Rocky Mountain Power (Utah, Wyoming and Idaho) and Pacific Power (Oregon, Washington and California). The foundation's mission, through charitable investments, is to support growth and vitality of the communities it serves.

For more information, visit

Rocky Mountain Power Foundation scholarship recipients for the 2008-09 academic year are:

Afton -- Tyson Barnes, geology; Chad Clark, biology.

Diamondville -- Nicholas Carollo, biology.

Evanston -- Kade Skinner, wildlife and fisheries management; Jacquelyn Stout, music education.

Green River -- Lauren Harrell, biology; Carlee Strid, art.

Lander -- Mitchell Brauneis, rangeland ecology; Joshua Jones, chemistry.

Laramie -- Courtney Papa, biology; Mitchell Wroblewski, geology.

Rock Springs -- Anna Fahlsing, astronomy and astrophysics.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader