Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Cheyenne, Wheatland, Laramie and Burns Teams Win at UW Engineering Competition

February 27, 2009

Teams from Cheyenne, Wheatland, Laramie and Burns won their respective divisions in a statewide engineering problem-solving contest at the University of Wyoming.

There were four winners for Part I of the competition. Cheyenne East placed first in Large School Varsity, Laramie placed first in Large School Junior Varsity, Wheatland placed first in Small School Varsity and Burns placed first in Small School Junior Varsity. Part II is scored nationally and scores are not yet determined.

Each year, the UW College of Engineering and Applied Science hosts the JETS/TEAMS (Junior Engineering Technical Society/Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics and Science) competition. High school students across the state compete as teams in an open-book, two-part collaborative problem-solving test. Nationwide, more than 20,000 high school students participate each year.

JETS promotes interest in engineering, science, mathematics and technology, and is dedicated to providing real-world engineering and problem-solving experience to high school students. The programs challenge students to discover engineering in high school. JETS programs and resources get students involved with engineering and preparing for the future.

Members of the first-place Cheyenne East varsity team are Robbie Carr, Gordan Dobbs, Paul Drake, Jason Hoffman, Alex Kapeller, Matt Powers and Xidoyu Yang. The team's coach is Paul Fechtmeister.

First-place Laramie junior varsity team members are Widya Adidharma, Songlin Cai, Garrett Hensley, Ethan Lockwood, Michael Love, Ellen Nye, Natasha Pettinger and Taryn Young. The team's coach is Pete Kontaxes.

Members of the first-place Wheatland varsity team are Malcolm Ervin, Luke Kaufman, Tyler Lower and Lance Sanderson. Andrea Leinen and Liesl Peterson are the team's coaches.

First-place Burns junior varsity team members are Bridget Bastian, Rebecca David, Hailey Dungan, Katie Girmus, Sarah Gordon, Amanda Lemaster and Lara Wilson. The team's coach is Eric Allen.

Posted on Friday, February 27, 2009

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon