Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Nominations Sought for Wyoming History Teacher of the Year

February 3, 2009 — The search is on for Wyoming's history teacher of the year.

Sherry Tavegie, Wyoming state coordinator for Preserve America, at the University of Wyoming, says the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History will honor outstanding educators who have at least three years of classroom experience in teaching American history in an elementary school.

To qualify, teachers must have at least three years experience and show commitment and above-average creativity in teaching American history.

Winners of the sixth annual award will be announced from each state and U.S. territory, and from this group one national history teacher of the year will be selected by a panel of historians. Each winner will receive a $1,000 award and an archive of primary-source historical materials for the winner's school library.

Educators can be nominated by department or division heads, school directors, social studies directors, principals or superintendents. Nominations are due to Tavegie, by April 15. For nomination materials or more information, call Tavegie at (307) 766-3213 or e-mail

Posted on Tuesday, February 03, 2009

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader