Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Employees Honored at Staff Recognition Day

April 15, 2009
Woman and man
UW President Tom Buchanan presents the President's Foundation award for outstanding campus service d to Paula Weems, office assistant senior in the Admissions Office.

More than 200 employees were honored Wednesday for their years of service and contributions to the University of Wyoming.

The annual Staff Recognition Day, sponsored by UW Staff Senate with support from the UW Office of the President, is intended to encourage and acknowledge the work of all UW staff members. Wyoming's First Lady Nancy Freudenthal was the keynote speaker during the event at the Crane/Hill dining area.

Laurie Sanchez, senior office associate in the UW Department of Criminal Justice, received the "Outstanding Employee of the Year" award, sponsored by Pepsi and UniWyo Federal Credit Union.

Melanie Stinson, Department of Psychology senior office associate, and Lori Lewis, MBA Program office associate in the College of Business, each received the E.G. Meyer Family Outstanding Staff Service Award.

The Jody K. Humphrey Inspirational Staff Award recipient was Rachel Sanchez, Outreach Credit Programs office associate.

President's Foundation awards for outstanding campus service were presented to Paula Weems, office assistant senior in the Admissions Office; and Renee Woodward, manager of UW/Casper College Center programs.

UW Staff Incentive awards were presented to Joleen Pantier, Agriculture Experiment Station senior accounting associate; Ray Gable, IT Client Support Services computer support specialist; and Willa Mullen, Department of Anthropology senior office associate.

The Skilled Crafts/Services awards were presented to Curtis Durgain, Carpentry Shop institutional locksmith; and Tod Scott, Waste Services supervisor.

Unsung Hero full-time awards were presented to Rick Zappa, Custodial Services facilities grounds attendant; and Jackie Shotkoski, Department of Counselor Education office associate.

Unsung Hero part-time awards went to Kristine Regnier, Office of the Registrar senior office associate; and Makayla Stewart, Department of Communication and Journalism senior office associate.

UW Off-campus awards were presented to Kelly Greenwald, Agriculture Experiment Station office associate in Lingle; and Ginny Ruckman, SEO/ETS/EOC project coordinator in Cheyenne.

Eight UW staff members were honored for 35 years of service: Kathleen S. Bertoncelj; Mary M. Candelaria; Ronald J. Hearne; Jennifer J. Lebsack; Linda Gay Osterman; Robert W. Pier; Claoma T. Woodall; and Ronda R. Woodward.

Awards for 30 years of service were presented to: Randy L Anderson; Virginia M. Becker; Dell L. Burnham; Susan Candelaria; Stephen R. Ownbey; Patricia M. Romero; Debra A Stark; and Kathi L. Zubrod.

Awards for 25 years of service to UW were presented to Virginia S. Alm; Crystal R.M. Bennettl; Dolores Saucedo Cardona; Donna Earley; Barbara A. Esquibel; Angela L. Faxon; Cynthia S. Fronapfel; Manuel M. Gallegos; Anthony D. Johnson; Mary G. Johnson; Arlene T. Mascarenas; Byron F. Nelson; Mary E. Nottage; Linda K. Nydahl; Barbara J. Powell; Cony L, Pownall; Joseph A. Romero; David W. Russell; Joan R. Ryan; Allen W. Tanner; Gary L. Thomas; and Lillian M. Wise.

Awards also were presented for 20, 15, 10 and 5 years of service.

Posted on Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon