Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Local Students, Educators Selected for UW Energy Summer Institute

May 28, 2009 — Local students and teachers will participate in the third annual Energy Summer Institute June 7-20, sponsored by the University of Wyoming School of Energy Resources (SER).

The 27 students and five teachers will attend classes covering energy-efficient architecture and geospatial technologies, including global position systems, geographic information systems and remote sensing.

Two new courses offered are "Energy on Earth" and "Cultures of Energy." The integrated courses provide a scientific and technical overview of energy sources and energy use along with an understanding of the human dimensions of energy use, says Mark Northam, SER director.

"The summer institute gives students the chance to learn about higher education and what UW offers along with having fun," Northam says.

Classes will be taught by Assistant Professor Anthony Denzer from the Department of Architectural Engineering; Associate Professional Lecturer Kenneth Driese from the Wyoming Geographic Information Science Center; Professor Carrick Eggleston from the Department of Geology and Geophysics; and Associate Professor Sarah Strauss from the Department of Anthropology.

Joseph Stepans, UW College of Education professor emeritus, will lead the class for teachers providing them with techniques for integrating secondary mathematics and science in context of energy issues.

The SER provides undergraduate and graduate education, conducts research on existing and emerging energy resources and disseminates scientific, engineering and economic information to support Wyoming's near and long-term energy future.

Participants, listed by hometown, are:

Afton -- Ben McArthur.
Basin -- James Hoffman.
Big Horn -- Brett Burtis.
Casper -- Kavan Hildebrand, Cindy Sun.
Cheyenne -- Jacob Gore, Sam Mallory.
Cody -- Brennan Sheridan, Garret Sides.
Cowley -- John Bernhisel.
Douglas -- Sarah Townsend.
Dubois -- Jerid McCabe.
Evansville -- Aimee Potter.
Gillette -- D.J. Hayden.
Glendo -- Amanda Kornegay.
Glenrock -- Samantha Brant, Bailey Dahlke, Jessica Grant.
Greybull -- Felix Weese.
Laramie -- James Huang, Richard Lively.
Newcastle -- Dusty Colvard.
Pinedale -- Lizabeth Hampton, Lindsay Orzel, Kodee Williams.
Riverton -- Judy Turay.
Sheridan -- Kaitlynne Heyer.
Shoshoni -- Dalton Linna .
Story -- Sara Burrell.
Wheatland -- Isaac Leinen, Daniel Wurth.
Worland -- Alec Hampton.

For more information about the Energy Summer Institute, call the SER office at (307) 766-2663.

Posted on Thursday, May 28, 2009

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader