Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Students Honored at Torchlight Laurels

May 11, 2009

University of Wyoming students were recognized and awarded for their involvement and academic achievements at the recent Torchlight Laurels and the Greek Awards ceremonies.

Annually, Torchlight Laurels recognizes more than 400 students for academic excellence, service and leadership.

Among those recognized at the event were the senior members of the University Honors Program; President's Senior Class Ambassadors; Mortar Board; Iron Skull; Cardinal Key, the national junior class service honorary; Spurs; Golden Key international honor society; Student Publications editors; top scholarship recipients; and all-district and all-American UW athletes.

Students who received special scholarships at the event include Reynaldo Fuentes (Evanston), Truman Scholarship; and Kelsey Day (Cheyenne), Teach for America.

The Associated Students of the University of Wyoming recognized Kalib Simpson (Green River), ASUW Freshman Senator of the Year; Danee Hunzie (Kemmerer), ASUW Student at Large of the Year; and Benjamin Kinny (Torrington), ASUW Charlotte H. Davis Senator of the Year. The Budget and Planning Committee received the ASUW Committee of the Year recognition as well.

The Mortar Board recognized Molecular Biology Professor Pamela Langer with its Outstanding Adviser Award and Electrical and Computer Engineering Professor David Whitman, Outstanding Service and Dedication Award. Phi Kappa Phi awarded Ann Stebner the Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship.

Other students recognized included Bryce Strampe (Green River) and Megan Stransky (Cheyenne), Charlotte Hearne Davis Scholarship; Hunzie, Chepchumba Limo (Nairobi, Kenya), Elizabeth Rader (Cheyenne) and Lydia Renneisen (Laramie), ASUW Leadership Scholarship; and Aria Mistica (Wheatland), James C. Hurst Scholarship.

The Iron Skull honorary recognized Melissa McCarthy (Rock Springs) as Outstanding Member.

At the Greek Awards ceremony Bryan Watt (Laramie) received the Greek Man of the Year award, and Maurisa Jensen (Cheyenne) received the Greek Woman of the Year award.


Posted on Monday, May 11, 2009

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon