Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Students Honored for Outstanding Service

May 14, 2009

The University of Wyoming College of Arts and Sciences Board of Visitors recently presented Outstanding Service Awards to students.

The awards recognize students who offer their time and talents to help a department or program function more dynamically and smoothly. Both undergraduate and graduate students may be recommended for the award by the department or program they serve.

Students who receive an outstanding service award are given $100 from the A&S Board of Visitors and $100 from the department or program they serve.

"Excellent citizenship and volunteerism are commendable, which is precisely the point of this award," notes Karen Maxfield, A&S Board of Visitors chairwoman. "We want students to know that their work has been noticed and appreciated."

Recipients for academic year 2008/2009 are:

Albuquerque, N.M. -- Patrick Mullen, Department of Anthropology.

Cheyenne -- Max Fahrenkopf, Department of Chemistry; Aaron Galloway-Perrell, Department of English; Daniel Hsieh, Department of Political Science; Erica Ramsey, Women's Studies; Deborah Sneed, Department of English; Jill Walker, Department of Geography.

Gillette -- Hanna Bush, Department of Communication and Journalism.

Grand Junction, Colo. -- Mark Moyer, Department of Geology and Geophysics.

Guernsey -- Karl Heimbuck, Department of Mathematics.

Laramie -- Emily Arendt, Department of History; Sonia Gahimbare, African American Studies; Paul Haselhorst, Department of Geology and Geophysics; Gwendolyn Van Baalen, Department of Music.

Lead, S.D. -- Jedediah Cracco, Department of Art.

Missoula, Mont. -- Adam Blackler, Department of History.

Newcastle -- Sara Halliday, Department of Philosophy.

Petaluma, Calif. -- Sarah Jacobs, Department of Sociology.

Philadelphia, Pa. -- Marissa Johnson-Valenzuela, Chicano Studies.

Phoenix, Ariz. -- Christine DeGeorge, Department of Communication and Journalism.

Rawlins -- C. J. Young, Department of Criminal Justice.

Riverton -- Seth Mathern, Department of Zoology and Physiology.

Rock Springs -- Anna Fahlsing, Department of Physics and Astronomy; Kelly Moore, Department of Modern and Classical Languages; Ashley Wing, Department of Psychology.

San Antonio, Texas -- Chris Ells, American Indian Studies.

Sheridan -- Chris Browne, Department of Theatre and Dance; Jascha Herdt, American Studies; Alyson Hinman, Department of Philosophy.

Thornton, Colo. -- Derek Epstein, Department of Theatre and Dance; Savi Neufer, Department of Geography.

Thunder Bay, Canada -- Mark Lesser, Department of Botany.

Worland -- Jamie Wolf, International Studies.

The College of Arts and Sciences Board of Visitors comprises alumni and friends who are interested in the success of the college and its students. Board members share their time, talents and money to help with fund raising, constituent relations and student achievement.

Posted on Thursday, May 14, 2009

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon