Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


College of Health Sciences Honors Alumni

November 10, 2009 — textThe University of Wyoming College of Health Sciences honored its outstanding alumni during a recent reception. Also during the reception, Fay and Roy Whitney were named Special Friends of the Year and UW Distinguished Alumna Marcia Dale was recognized.

The Whitneys have supported the college for many years -- the School of Nursing was renamed to honor of Fay, and the family established an endowment in nursing to bring nationally and internationally recognized nurse educators and practitioners to UW.

Marcia L. Dale was one of this year's UW Distinguished Alumni. Dale retired in 2003 after serving as dean of the Fay W. Whitney School of Nursing for 10 years and rendering 42 years of dedicated service to UW. She was active in state and national nursing associations and was one of the first three nurses from Wyoming to be accepted as a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing. In 2000, she and her husband endowed a scholarship to help nursing students by paying for tuition, books and sometimes daycare.

Samuel D. Millar is the 2009 College of Health Sciences Alumnus of the Year. Millar earned his B.S. degree in nursing from UW in 2002, and his M.S. in health sciences from Touro University International in Los Alamitos, Calif. He is now a captain in the U.S. Air Force, earning commendations for his nursing care of combat casualties, White House personnel and pediatric and geriatric patients.

Dianne V. Lowe-Carpenter is this year's Outstanding Alumna for the Division of Social Work. Lowe-Carpenter directs the Laramie County Community College (LCCC) Counseling Center in Cheyenne, where she also teaches and advises LCCC students who are interested in entering the social work field.

Theodore "Ted" Hoy is the 2009 Outstanding School of Pharmacy (SOP) Alumnus. Hoy received his degree from UW in 1950, and is now a retired community pharmacist in Cheyenne. Hoy and his family established and endowed the Otis L. Hoy Memorial Fund, which each fall brings distinguished speakers to UW during Pharmacy Weekend. He also serves on UW's Campus Advisory Board and SOP's advisory and development committees.

Micky E. Routson is the 2009 Division of Communication Disorders' Alumna of the Year. Routson received her master's degree in speech pathology from UW in 1983, and recently retired as the Albany County School District's speech-language pathologist.

Gentian Scheer is this year's Medical Education Program's Outstanding Alumna. A Farson native, Scheer has been dedicated to becoming a physician throughout her life. After earning her B.S. degree in physical education in 1997, Scheer was accepted into the UW WWAMI medical education program before completing her residency at the University of Colorado Medical Center, Colorado Medical Center, Presbyterian Hospital, Rose Medical Center and a veteran's administration hospital in Denver. She has returned to Wyoming to practice internal medicine.

William "Bill" T. Lyons is the 2009 Kinesiology and Health's Outstanding Alumnus. Lyons completed his bachelor's degree in physical education at UW in 1973, and served as UW's head athletic trainer.

The UW College of Health Sciences presented its Special Friends of the Year Award to Roy and Fay Whitney.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader