Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Women's Rodeo Team to be Honored at Halftime Saturday

November 4, 2009 — The University of Wyoming women's rodeo team, winners of last summer's College National Finals Rodeo championship, will be honored at halftime of Saturday's football game against Brigham Young University. The game begins at noon.

The four team members are TaNaye Carroll, La Junta, Colo; Kacy Hatten, Wheatland; Sarah Mulholland, Richland Center, Wis.; and Nikki Steffes, Vale, S.D. They are coached by George Howard.

The four helped UW win its second CNFR title in the past three seasons and the program's fifth overall. The 2009 national champions won 10 of 11 regional rodeos last season and set a school-record with 5,620 total points.

Three of the four team members still attend UW to complete their degrees. Hatten is a current team member and is majoring in agricultural communications; Mulholland majors in nursing; and Steffes is a molecular/medical biology major. Carroll is pursing a doctoral degree at Creighton University.

Both Mulholland and Steffes have used up their eligibility, but Steffes still competes because she is the regional student director. However, her points do not count toward the Cowgirls' team scores.

Steffes won the her second all-around title at last summer's CNFR and was the national goat tying runner-up for the third straight season. Mulholland won the goat tying championship.

National goat tying champion Sarah Mulholland will be among the Cowgirls honored Saturday.


Posted on Wednesday, November 04, 2009

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader