Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

Campus Committee Promotes, Assists Sustainability Efforts

February 22, 2010

The University of Wyoming is among 650 Colleges and Universities participating in an effort to reduce greenhouse gas emissions on campuses across the United States.

President Tom Buchanan in August, 2007, signed the Presidents Climate Commitment, an initiative of the American College and University Presidents Climate Commitment (ACUPCC). Membership comes with a set of requirements including reporting greenhouse gas reductions and energy efficiencies.

UW's Campus Sustainability Committee (CSC) is charged by the president with ensuring the university complies with ACUPCC requirements, promoting sustainability on campus and assisting departments with sustainability initiatives. The CSC also administers the UW Climate Action Plan and produces an annual Greenhouse Gas Emissions Inventory.

CSC committee members include representatives from divisions of Administration, Academic Affairs and Student Affairs, ASUW, Students for Sustainability, Department of Intercollegiate Athletics and the UW Foundation. Watch for more stories in coming weeks about the CSC's efforts to achieve its sustainability goals.

For more information on the CSC, visit


1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon