Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Leadership Wyoming Program Begins at UW With Orientation Session

August 4, 2010

An orientation session for the 11th Leadership Wyoming class is Aug. 5-6, at the University of Wyoming. Since 2001, more than 400 people from throughout the state have graduated from the program.

A Wyoming Heritage Foundation and UW program, Leadership Wyoming provides opportunities for a diverse group of 40 Wyoming citizens to participate in a challenging and thought-provoking nine-month educational experience. Beginning in early August and ending in May, the group will participate in eight sessions in Laramie, Jackson, Gillette, Evanston, Worland, Cheyenne, Casper and Sheridan.

Training sessions provide practical, nonpartisan, hands-on understanding of a broad spectrum of public policy issues, and develop an appreciation for trusteeship, with lasting commitments to civic involvement at the state and local level.

Leadership Wyoming gives participants an opportunity to better understand general public policy issues, economic and social diversity and the challenges facing the state. The experience prepares them, through shared mutual interests and the leadership skills developed, to be active in building a better Wyoming, says Bill Schilling, Wyoming Business Alliance/Wyoming Heritage Foundation president and Leadership Wyoming executive director.

For more information about the program, call (307) 577-8000 or visit the Web site

Members of the new class, listed by hometown are:

Casper -- Shawn Bassham, Wyoming Medical Center Foundation executive director; Ken Clark, PacifiCorp Energy wind development manager; Matt Kaiser, Wyoming Medical Center director of employee services; Traci Mears, Garden Creek Law Offices, P.C. attorney; Tom Mosley, Wells Fargo regional director-Wyoming/Montana; Chad Nelson, Nelico, Inc. operations manager.

Cheyenne -- Derek Baker, Inberg-Miller Engineers geological engineer; Kelly Hamilton, Wyoming Citizen Review Panel, Incorporated executive director; Keith Harris, Wyoming Office of Homeland Security critical infrastructure program manager; Brenda Lyttle, Department of Family Services child support enforcement director; Tammy Maas, Wyoming Army National Guard construction and facilities officer; George McIlvaine, retired; Don McKenzie, Department of Environmental Quality land quality division administrator; Ann Nelson, American National Bank, regional president; Steve Rader, 153 AW Wyoming Air National Guard vice commander; Mark Stege, Cheyenne Light, Fuel and Power vice president-operations; Leigh West, Cheyenne Regional Medical Center vice president planning and communications; Jim Willms, Unicover Corporation president/CEO.

Cody -- Cayde Johnson, Groathouse Construction, Inc. client relations/preconstruction manager.

Gillette -- Doug Gerard, Jackalope Technologies, Inc. president/ owner; Heidi Lowe, Cloud Peak Energy manager-public relations and community affairs; Les Mahon, First Interstate Bank, market president; Dave Sutter, Powder River Energy Corporation vice president-system operations.

Green River -- Stephen Pyles, City of Green River public information officer.

Jackson -- RuthAnn Petroff, Snake River Roasting Co. manager; Scott Williams, retired.

Lander -- Pip Coe, National Outdoor Leadership School alumni and development director; RaJean Strube Fossen, Strube Construction, LLC owener/operator.

Laramie -- Gracie Lawson-Borders, UW College of Arts and Sciences associate dean; Nancy Fallas, UW/Manufacturing Works business manager; Pilar Flores, UW Student Educational Opportunity director; Megan Goetz, Pence and MacMillan LLC attorney/ partner/ member; Jeff Hamerlinck, UW/Wyoming Geographic Information Science Center director; Joe Steiner UW College of Health Sciences dean; Jacque Stonum, Cathedral Home for Children human resources generalist.

Pavillion -- Diana Clapp, Fremont County School District #6 superintendent.

Pinedale -- Jim Quirk, Sublette County Rural Health Care District/Pinedale Medical Center medical director/staff physician.

Rawlins -- Terry Weickum, Candy Mountain owner.

Riverton -- Jackie Dorothy, Wind River Casino marketing director.

Rock Springs -- Steven Hickerson, FMC Corp. customer support/ team leader; Darin Howe, Simplate Phosphates LLC EHSS manager; Suzanne Zutter, United Way of Southwest Wyoming executive director.

Sheridan -- Eric Brandjord, Inter-Mountain Labs business development manager; Wendy Smith, Northern Wyoming Community College District marketing and public information officer.

Thermopolis -- Amy Lea, UW/ Wyoming Entrepreneur PTAC program manager.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon