Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Cheyenne, Wheatland Teams Win UW Engineering Competition

March 3, 2011 — Teams from Cheyenne and Wheatland won their respective divisions in a statewide engineering problem-solving contest at the University of Wyoming. Wheatland High School placed first in the Small School Junior Varsity competition and Cheyenne East High School was first in the Large School Varsity division.

Each year, the UW College of Engineering and Applied Science is host to the JETS/TEAMS (Junior Engineering Technical Society/Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics and Science) competition. High School students across the state compete as teams in an open-book, two-part collaborative problem-solving test. Nationwide, more than 20,000 high school students participate each year. Ten teams from Cheyenne, Burns, Wheatland, and Laramie competed in the JETS/TEAMS competition this year.

JETS promotes interest in engineering, science, mathematics and technology, and is dedicated to providing real-world engineering and problem-solving experience to high school students. The programs challenge students to discover engineering while in high school and to consider engineering as a career.

Members of the large school varsity division team Cheyenne East High School, coached by Paul Fechtmeister, are Austin Beyers, Thomas Bilodeau, Geoffrey Carr, Ivan Larson, Dahmahnic Mace-Nocera, Josh Messer, Cody Muchmore and Jerome VanLancker.

Members of the small school junior varsity division winner Wheatland High School, coached by Andrea Leinen, are Ashley Burns, Sawyer Lawrence, Evan Schmitzer and Tyler Schockley.

Other competitors included:

Burns High School, coached by Eric Allen - Jordel Billingsley, Rory Fitchner, Adan Gandara, Aaron Kreuzer, Holly Leininger, Ryler Lerwick, Norman Rienks, Lukas Romsa, Jeff Skelton, Cody Spencer and Alex Swaney.

Cheyenne East High School junior varsity - Shelby Kindsvater, Austen Motily, Nolan Rap, Josh Walker and Cedar Wiseman.

Laramie Senior High School, coached by  Pete Kontaxes - Lingga Adidharma, Todd Anderson, Isaac Armstrong, Elizabeth Crecca, Tim Gunderson, Josh Henry, Franklin Hinckey, James Huang, Kathleen Oolman, Natalie Shih, June Sun, Erika van'tVeld, George Wheeler and John Yuan.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader