Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now

2011 Summer High School Institute Participants Named

April 26, 2011

An opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth for 95 talented and exceptional 10th graders from throughout the state will be presented during the 27th annual Summer High School Institute June 5-25, at the University of Wyoming.

The students were selected from 75 schools in 50 school districts.

The 52 young women and 43 young men will participate in the program that provides a well-balanced university experience for talented high school students who have just completed their sophomore year. UW offers them an opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth, cultivate their leadership capabilities and measure their capacities and interests. 

High school administrators, counselors and teachers gave freely of their time and interest to guide students through the application process.

Selections are based on the student's application letter and an essay, two letters of support from teachers or directors of youth organizations in which the students participate, a list of outside activities, transcripts and grade point averages and results of standardized tests.

The institute is sponsored by UW with special funding from the Wyoming State Legislature.

UW faculty members will conduct problem-centered classes ranging from philosophy to hip-hop to robotics and pharmacy. 

Sports, talent shows, picnics, community service, dances, outside speakers, attendance at local concerts and plays, visits to museums and enrichment excursions will complement the three-week experience.

Participants, listed by high school, are:

Arvada-Clearmont Junior/Senior High School -- Keely Rockafellow.

Big Horn High School -- Matthew Wigglesworth.

Big Piney High School -- Weston Anderson and Manuel Garcia.

Buffalo High School -- Alex Velasquez.

Campbell County High School -- Jessica Smith.

Casper High Schools -- Natrona County -- Mike Orcutt, Natasha Radosevich, Anna Schenfisch and Simon Schutts; Star Lane Center -- Evalon Wright.

Cheyenne High Schools -- Central --  Jacob Crotsenberg, Dustin Frank, Robert (Tony) LaFaso, Rick Matza, Kenneth McClure, Sierra Smith and Davis Vercher. East -- Christopher Benton, Abigail Conrad, Olivia Haugh, Brittnie Margheim, Ishara Nisley, Alex Soveroski and Sara Vestal. South -- Tim Faran, Nathaniel Sailors and Brian Wingate.

Cody High School -- Braeden Jensen.

Douglas High School -- Shaleigh Clark, Morgan Mariner, Brittany Vandeventer and Katie Wilson.

Evanston Schools -- Evanston High School -- Karolin Golding, Meghan Haukaas, Parker LaFond and Daniela Marquez; Horizon High School -- Frankie Prescott.

Farson-Eden High School -- Briana Stotts.

Glendo High School -- Tesia Wilhelm.

Glenrock High School -- Alyssa Biffle, Lane Blakeley, Dustin Horn and Taylor Yingling.

Green River High School -- Erin Bentley, Tasha Durfee, Tiffany Perry and Brianna Rundell.

Greybull High School -- Sarah Bockman and Michaela Denniston.

Guernsey-Sunrise Junior/Senior High School -- William Scherger.

Hulett School -- Mitchell Clark.

Kemmerer Junior/Senior High School -- Tysha Muller.

Laramie High School -- Lingga Adidharma and Gabriel Shih.

Lovell High School -- Kassidy Hetland, Mesa Rose Mathews and Tessa Watson.

Lyman High School -- Hunter Peterson.

Moorcroft Junior/Senior High School -- Olivia Callaway-Testerman and Christina Zurbuchen.

Mountain View High School -- Masyra Wilkinson.

Niobrara County High School -- Deneese Henry, Zachary Stephens and Ian Zerbe.

Pinedale High School -- Sessions Lowham and Calvin Makelky.

Powell High School -- Emily LaPlante, Brooke Thomas and Brandi Voss.

Riverside High School -- Kelsey Roussan.

Riverton High School -- Asia Carr, Amber Erhart, Quentin Lance, Kristen Wederski and W. Sam Winter.

Rock River High School -- Charles Scheerschmidt.

Rock Springs High School -- Omar Etman, Katherine Jacobs, Jade Liggett and Cheyenne Powell.

Saratoga High School -- Daniel Kerbs and Jacob Fourman.

Sheridan Schools -- Sheridan High School -- Lucy LaRosa and Denim Lind; Fort Mackenzie High School -- Rhyan Gessner.

Star Valley High School -- Jordan Hodgson and Ben Sabat.

Tongue River High School -- Sarah Maze.

Torrington High School -- Craig Phillips and Trae Travitz.                                                   

Worland High School -- Brittany Anderson and Talitha Trippel.

Yellowstone National Park -- Teton High School (Driggs, Idaho) -- Riley Hodgson and Jacob Miskin.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon