Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Employees Honored at Staff Recognition Day

April 20, 2011 — Doug Freeman, data center specialist with Information Technology Business Services, today (Wednesday) was named the University of Wyoming's outstanding employee of the year during annual Staff Recognition Day at UW.

More than 300 employees were honored Wednesday for their years of service and contributions to UW. Sponsored by UW Staff Senate with support from the UW Office of the President, Staff Recognition Day encourages and acknowledges the work of all UW staff members.

Michael Killean, systems specialist with Information Technology Telecom System Support Services, and Kelly Wiseman, College of Agriculture Academic and Student Support Services staff assistant, each received the E.G. Meyer Family Outstanding Staff Service Award.

The Jody K. Humphrey Inspirational Staff Award recipient was Scott Diederich, Facilities and Grounds assistant supervisor.

The President's Foundation Awards for outstanding campus service were presented to Lena Newlin, coordinator of UW's AWARE Program; Deb Ross, chef with UW Residence Life and Dining Services; and Keith Seebart, associate director of Facilities Planning.

UW Staff Incentive awards were presented to Michelle Hansen, Educational Studies office associate; Nick Mahon, engineer in the Department of Atmospheric Science; and Carlinda Munoz, International Studies office associate.

The Skilled Crafts award was presented to Thomas Kern, Physical Plant electrician.

The Skilled Services award was presented to Johnny Johnston, Facilities and Grounds attendant.

Unsung Hero full-time awards were presented to Leslie Gallagher, office assistant senior in the Department of Music, and Joseph Nottage, UW Police Department security officer.

The Unsung Hero part-time award went to Kristy Isaak, Associated Students of UW accounting associate senior.

UW Off-campus awards were presented to Adrienne Loveland, Admissions Office assistant director, and James Logue, computer support specialist with Information Technology Client Support Services.

A new award, the Pete Simpson Golden Gloved award, was presented to Aimee Appelhans, programmer analyst with Information Technology Information Services.  

A list of staff members receiving years of service recognition ranging from 5-35 years can be found on the Staff Senate webpage,

The Beitel Drum Circle entertained the crowd during Staff Recognition Day Wednesday. (UW Photo)

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader