Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Reception Honors UW-CC Education Graduates, Mentor Teachers

May 11, 2011

Forty University of Wyoming/Casper College (UW/CC) Center education graduates received pins honoring their completion of a semester-long public school residency at a recent reception. The graduates then presented their mentor teachers with fine writing pens as a gesture of gratitude for fostering their growth as educators.

The faculty speaker was Lydiah Nganga, assistant professor of elementary and early childhood education at the UW/CC Center, followed by the student speaker Christine Hoskins.

Other guest speakers at the event were associate dean of the UW College of Education Suzie Young, and executive director of curriculum and instruction for the Natrona County School District, Mark Mathern. After presenting Park Elementary School teacher Sue Berchenbriter with the Mentor Teacher of the Year Award, partner schools facilitator Marcia Patton led the pinning ceremony with words of appreciation to building administrators, mentors, families and friends.

Nganga, Keonghee Tao Han, Jennifer Forrester, Patton and Jason Katzmann, supervising faculty members of UW/CC Center education students in residency, pinned the graduates and their mentor teachers.

The following students and their mentors, listed with the schools in which they fulfilled their residency requirements, were pinned:

Centennial Junior High School: Stephanie Marker with mentors Shane Palmer and Tim Wilcox.

Dean Morgan Junior High School: Kindle Flicek with mentor Carolyn Jacobs; Michael Thomas with mentor Carla Smith.

Evansville Elementary School: Brittany Hixson with mentor Erin Jackson; Heidi Limmer with mentor Nancy Rino; and Bridget Rothenhoefer with mentor Jessie Winford.

Kelly Walsh High School: Jeff Piel with mentor Sally O'Brien.

Manor Heights Elementary School: Megan Aleman with mentor Cindy DeLeeuw; Katrina Crossland with mentor Susie Mayhue; Meghan Ferguson with mentor Shannon Kersenbrock; Alyssa Gibbins with mentor Kim Carpenter; Catherine Kellick with mentor Jane Brown; Anthony Nichols with mentor Margaret Courtade; Heather Niesent with mentor Michelle Glynn; Anita Renemans with mentor Brenda Foy; and Jennifer Russell with mentor Angie Geiger.

Oregon Trail Elementary School: Madeline Chuman with mentor Dixie Bowen; Kallie Izatt with mentor Brandy Carothers; Megan Lisco with mentor Christina Jourgensen; Jamie Summers with mentor Cheri Eastwood; and Stacey Weinrich with mentor Becky Harshman.

Park Elementary School: Katharina Bohr-Buresh with mentors Kelly Rush and Brandy McIntyre; Christine Hoskins with mentor Maggie Jolly; Starla Miller with mentors Sue Berchenbriter and Laura McCleary; Rachel Patterson with mentors Nicole Dundas and Cindy Hill; and Jacy Short with mentors Angela Ourth and Sarah Rowland.

Sagewood Elementary School: Krysti Bateman with mentor Megan Amadio; Heather Booth with mentor Sarah Terry; Elizabeth Fauber with mentor Shawn Galles; Melissa Kulhavy with mentor Toni Billings; Heather Pauline with mentor Christi Bayer; Tracie Rebich with mentor Kim Lau; and Sara Townsend with mentors Brandy Bentz and Carrie Patterson.

Verda James Elementary School: Acacia Boyes with mentor Chris Wilcox; Tracee Smith with mentor Elizabeth Harris; Mallory Brackmann with mentors Bridget Fink and Kori Royce; Maurica Medders with mentor Kathy Finch; Cynthia Pate with mentor Lauri Rail; Emilee Scholtz with mentor Whitney Lovelace; and Allison Taylor with mentor Kayla St. John.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon