Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


UW Presents Greek Awards

May 20, 2011 — Outstanding chapters of the University of Wyoming sorority/fraternity community were honored at a recent awards ceremony.

The Panhellenic and Interfraternity councils awarded the Overall Sorority and Fraternity Advancement Awards to Kappa Kappa Gamma and Sigma Chi, respectively, for their service and dedication to UW and the Greek community.

Kappa Kappa Gamma and Sigma Phi Epsilon won the Advancement in Academic Achievement Awards for their dedication to academics and academic programming.

The outstanding community service efforts of Kappa Kappa Gamma and Sigma Phi Epsilon were recognized, as were the outstanding community service efforts of Delta Delta Delta and Sigma Chi.

Delta Delta Delta and Sigma Chi were awarded the Advancement in Chapter Programming Awards for conducting and attending a variety of campus programs.

Kappa Kappa Gamma and Sigma Chi were honored for new member education and recruitment efforts.

Other recognitions included the Advancement in Sisterhood award to Delta Delta Delta and the Advancement in Brotherhood Award to Sigma Phi Epsilon.

Chi Omega won the Social Graciousness Award, and Sigma Alpha Epsilon was awarded an Overcoming Adversity Award.

Individual members of the Greek community were also honored for their outstanding achievements. Shannon Smith, journalism major from Evanston, Kappa Kappa Gamma, was named Sorority Woman of the Year, and Nema Koohmaraie, criminal justice major from Clay Center, Neb., Sigma Phi Epsilon, was named Fraternity Man of the Year.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Laramie named Jamie Gaab, finance major from Pierce, Colo., Sigma Chi, Big Brother of the Year. 

Nathan Mullen, education major form Denver, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, presented the keynote speech.

Shannon Smith of Evanston was named UW's Sorority Woman of the Year at a recent awards ceremony.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader