Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

Wyoming State High School Football Championships

November 12, 2011


Sheridan Returns to Take Class 4A State Championship

Sheridan won its second 4A state football championship in the past three years after rolling over Cheyenne East 42-14 Saturday night at War Memorial Stadium at the University of Wyoming.

The high-powered Broncs scored all seven touchdown in the first three quarters to coast to their 10th victory of the season against just one loss. Sheridan entered the game ranked No. 2 overall in Wyoming football's largest classification. The Thunderbirds finished the season with a 7-4 record.

Game statistics can be found here.


Cokeville Wins Second Straight 1A State Title

Cokeville pulled away in the second half to defeat No. 1 and previously unbeaten Southeast of Yoder 28-13 Saturday to win its second straight 1A state title. The game was played at War Memorial Stadium at the University of Wyoming.

The Panthers captured their 19th overall state championship with the victory to finish the season at 10-1. The Cyclones could not get any closer than 14-13 early in the third quarter and ended the season with the same record.

Game statistics can be found here.


Little Snake River Repeats as 6-man State Champions

Little Snake River High School of Baggs capped a perfect season by winning the 1A 6-man state championship with a 54-33 victory Saturday against Dubois at War Memorial Stadium at the University of Wyoming.

The Rattlers, who finished 11-0 on the season, captured the 6-man title for the second straight season and stretched their winning streak to 21 straight games. Dubois, making its first-ever small school championship game, ended the year at 9-2. The Rams were competing on the 6-man level for the first time.

Game statistics can be found here.

Powell Edges Three-Time Champion Douglas to Take 3A Title

Powell stopped Douglas' two-point conversion attempt with just 15 seconds remaining in the game to upset the three-time 3A champion Bearcats 15-14 Friday at War Memorial Stadium at the University of Wyoming.

The Panthers, who a week earlier knocked off top-ranked Green River in the semi-finals, scored the winning touchdown halfway through the final quarter. Powell closed out the season with a 9-2 record. Douglas had just one loss coming into the championship game.  

Game statistics can be found here.

Lovell Claims 2A State Championship Over Lyman

The Lovell Bulldogs won their second state football championship in the school's history, defeating Lyman 21-13 in the 2A title game Friday at War Memorial Stadium at the University of Wyoming.

The Bulldogs, who won a state championship in 1987, finished the season 11-0, while the Eagles closed at the year with a 9-2 record. Both losses came at the hands of the Lovell team.

Game statistics can be found here.

All five Wyoming high school state football championships (Nov. 11-12) are being played at War Memorial Stadium on the University of Wyoming campus.

This is the third year that the Wyoming High School Activities Association (WHSAA) has elected to play the state championship games in Laramie. Games are hosted jointly by the Albany County Tourism Board, Laramie High School and UW in conjunction with the WHSAA.

Schedule of games:

Lovell-Lyman, Friday at noon.

Powell-Douglas, Friday at 3 p.m.

Little Snake River-Dubois, Saturday at 10 a.m.

Cokeville-Southeast Saturday at 1 p.m.

Cheyenne East-Sheridan, Saturday at 4 p.m.

For more information and game-day updates, visit the WHSAA Web site at

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Vimeo Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon