Some of the content on this website requires JavaScript to be enabled in your web browser to function as intended. While the website is still usable without JavaScript, it should be enabled to enjoy the full interactive experience.

Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content


Professors Receive Outstanding Educator Awards from UW Ag College

December 19, 2011 — Two professors in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources have received Outstanding Educator Awards at the University of Wyoming.

Tom Thurow in the Department of Ecosystem Science and Management and Karen Williams in the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences were recognized at a recent ceremony. Each received $2,500. An anonymous donor established the award to recognize classroom and extension educators in the college.

Nominations are peer reviewed by a committee composed of a dean's office representative, an academic department head and a previous award recipient.

Two awards through the Office of Academic and Student Programs are presented by students. Naomi Ward, an assistant professor in the Department of Molecular Biology, received the Lawrence Meeboer Agricultural Classroom Teaching Award. Students also presented Urszula Norton, an assistant professor in the Department of Plant Sciences, the Outstanding Adviser Award. Ward and Norton each received $500.

BreAnna Bonner and Marce Vasquez, laboratory technicians in the Department of Veterinary Sciences, received Outstanding Staff Awards from Dean Frank Galey. Each received $500.

Share This Page:

Footer Navigation

University of Wyoming Medallion
1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071 // UW Operators (307) 766-1121 // Contact Us // Download Adobe Reader