Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

UW Senior Honor Society Names Top Professors for 2011

December 5, 2011
Three students
Members of the University of Wyoming Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board have named their "Top Profs," professors who have made a positive impact on their lives at UW. Among those attending the recent honors banquet were Molly Sullivan, Riverton, Art Professor Ashley Carlisle and Ronald Morgan, Cheyenne. (Mortar Board Photo)

Members of the University of Wyoming Cap and Gown Chapter of Mortar Board have named their "Top Profs" for the academic year.

All of the members of the senior honor society selected professors who have made a positive impact on their lives at UW. These professors go beyond normal classroom expectations to help their students succeed, both in college and later in their careers.

"Being selected as a 'Top Prof' is a great honor for professors because they are chosen by the students," says College of Engineering and Applied Science Professor David Whitman, one of Mortar Board's advisers.

Randa May of Pine Bluffs, 2011-2012 chapter president, thanked UW President Tom Buchanan and wife Jacque for supporting the Top Prof banquet. She also recognized special guests Peg Tobin, a longtime contributor to the UW chapter, and Megan Stevens, the current national Mortar Board assistant executive director for chapter development.

Selection as a member of Mortar Board is one of the highest honors that a UW senior can achieve. Mortar Board recognizes students who have excelled in and out of the classroom, based on scholarship, leadership and service. Mortar Board members participate in many projects and activities throughout the year, both on campus and in the Laramie community.

Listed are the UW Mortar Board students, their Top Profs for 2011 and the professors' disciplines:

Albuquerque, N.M. - Kara Rechard, Gary Robert Werhonig (Kinesiology & Health).

Anchorage, Alaska - Katie Cusack, Hilla Maaria Skiba (Economics & Finance).

Arvada, Colo. - Amanda Duncan, Scott A Chamberlin (Elementary & Early Childhood Education).

Belgrade, Mont. - Kathleen Brown, Nicole C. Lamartine (Music).

Big Horn - Melissa Hoyer, Peter E. Thorsness (Molecular Biology).

Broomfield, Colo. - Allison Beaufort, Marcus Dubois Watson (International Studies); Jacqueline Fankell, Colleen J. Denney (Gender & Women's Studies).

Burbank, Calif. - Saralyn van Knapp Jennings, Donal Timothy O'Toole (Veterinary Science).

Casper - Evan Blonigen, Antoinette DeNapoli (Religious Studies); Megan Degenfelder, Yan Zhang (Modern & Classical Languages); Rolfe Schwartzkopf, Amy B. Spiker (Elementary & Early Childhood Education); Katie Stoll, Sonya Sue Meyer (Family & Consumer Sciences).

Centennial, Colo. - Molly Koshewa, Kimberly Dawn Miller (Elementary & Early Childhood Education).

Cheyenne - Jennifer Black, Barbara Ellen Logan (History); Joseph Chenchar, Duncan S. Harris (English); Keelia Cox, Gary M Fleischman (Accounting); Dustin Gochenour, Ana Junker (Modern & Classical Languages); Anna Henrich, Rodney A. Garnett (Music); Ronald Morgan, Ashley H. Carlisle (Art); Sady Perryman, Alan Richard Buss (Elementary & Early Childhood Education); Callie Rulli, Warrie J. Means (Animal Science); Dana Schultz, Steven F. Barrett (Electrical & Computer Engineering); Kyle Zakar, Cary Eugene Heck (Criminal Justice).

Fayetteville, N.C. - Aylin Marquez, Jason S. Williford (Mathematics).

Fort Collins, Colo. - Jenna Woodard, Holly E. Miller (Nursing).

Gillette - Rachel Nedved, Ron Pedersen (Accounting).

Green River - Jessica Burke, Scott A Chamberlin (Elementary & Early Childhood Education); Bryce Strampe, Edward A. Janak (Educational Studies).

Highlands Ranch, Colo. - Mallory Mayer, Diana L. Wiig (Elementary & Early Childhood Education).

Lakewood, Colo. - Rachel Slama, Jose A. Rosa (Management & Marketing).

Laramie - Michael Jaycox, Brad A. Williamson (Music); Stephen Michel, John O. Hoberg (Chemistry).

Lingle - Samantha Wagner, David L Jones (Communication Disorders).

Littleton, Colo. - Jordan Parry, Kevin Scott Larsen (Modern & Classical Languages).

Lone Tree, Colo. - Alexandra Edwards, Herve G. Picherit (Modern & Classical Languages).

Lovell - Amber Savage, Ryan T. Readdy (Kinesiology & Health).

Pine Bluffs - Randa May, Chris Bastian (Agricultural & Applied Economics).

Rapid City, S.D. - Lauren Armstrong, Debora L. Retz (Nursing).

Riverton - Rebecca Baldwin, David L Jones (Communication Disorders); Molly Sullivan, Khama-Bassili Tolo (Modern & Classical Languages).

Rock Springs - Anna Fahlsing, Suzanna L Penningroth (Psychology); Alicia Gray, Robert C. Corcoran (Chemistry).

Saint Charles, Ill. - Emily Rayl, Sarah Lee Carle (Modern & Classical Languages.)

Sheridan - Emily Beagle, Yuan Zheng (Mechanical Engineering).

Thornton, Colo. - Stacia Slowey, Gi-Hyeon Park (Civil Engineering).

Upperville, Va. - Amanda Thomas, Warrie J Means (Animal Science).

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon