Skip to Main Navigation. Each navigation link will open a list of sub navigation links.

Skip to Main Content

Apply to the University of Wyoming apply now

Global Resource Navigation

Visit Campus
Download UW Viewbook
Give to UW

2012 Summer High School Institute Participants Named

April 25, 2012

An opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth for 83 talented sophomores from throughout the state will be presented in the 28th annual Summer High School Institute June 10-30, at the University of Wyoming.

The students were selected from 75 schools in 50 school districts. UW offers them an opportunity to achieve intellectual and personal growth, cultivate their leadership capabilities, and measure their capacities and interests.

UW faculty members will conduct problem-centered classes ranging from philosophy to hip-hop to robotics and pharmacy.

Athletic activities, talent shows, picnics, community service, dances, outside speakers, attendance at local concerts and plays, visits to museums and enrichment excursions will complement the three-week experience.

High school administrators, counselors and teachers guided students through the application process. Selections are based on an application letter and an essay; two letters of support from teachers or directors of youth organizations in which the students participate; a list of outside activities and academic performance.

The institute is sponsored by UW with special funding from the Wyoming State Legislature.

Participants, listed by high school, are:

Arvada-Clearmont Junior/Senior High School -- Shantel Armijo and Kayle Liberty Riley.

Big Piney High School -- Garrett Formo.

Burns Junior/Senior High School -- Wyatt Emery and Mimi Kreuzer.

Casper High Schools: Natrona County -- Margaret McMillian and Jake Gray. Kelly Walsh -- Cynica Feiler, Kolby Fenster and Trevor Thorvaldson.

Cheyenne High Schools: Central -- Christopher Coffelt, Emily Robinnette, Chantelle Runion and Dean Ryan. East -- Maia Marces, James Munoz and Emily Wood. South -- Pamela Velazquez.

Cody High School -- James Anderson, Jacelin Ford and Kathryn Hull.

Douglas High School -- Kailee Steward.

Dubois Junior/Senior High School -- Kameron Jensen.

Encampment High School -- David Flauding.

Evanston High School -- Hunter Jetkoski-Defries, Benjamin Kunz and Amanda Martin.

Glenrock High School -- Christopher Daniels.

Green River High School -- Taylor Smith.

Greybull High School -- Ezra Hanson and Alexandria Preis.

Hulett School -- Morgan Cummings and Monica Fowlkes.

Jackson -- Summit High School -- Annel Angeles.

Kemmerer Junior/Senior High School -- Kaisha Nelson.

Lander Valley High School -- Scott Kaufman and Kennedy Thatch.

Laramie Schools: Laramie High School -- Jordan French, Chris Huang, Maggie Huss, Joshua Reed, Gabe Selting and Cameron Skinner. Whiting High School -- Tiger Lily Kelly.

Little Snake River Valley High School -- Russell Todd.

Lovell High School -- Mariah Dawn Harford and Katie Jo Hoover.

Lyman High School -- Kayla Henson and Ashley Ott.

Moorcroft Junior/Senior High School -- Melody Ferrell.

Mountain View High School -- Jacob Kristopher Watson.

Newcastle High School -- Justin Francis and Starasea Colon-Smith.

Niobrara County High School -- Aleshia Barndt and Jessica Bruegger.

Pine Bluffs High School -- Austin Asay and Samantha Hanson.

Pinedale High School -- Joslyn Thompson.

Powell High School -- Brooke Lensegrav and Nicholas Tracy.

Riverside High School - Shelena Coronado and Taylor Vigil.

Rock Springs High School -- Jordan Brooks, Jason Edman and Nayana Yeshlur.

Saratoga High School -- Harley Klemola.

Sheridan Schools: Sheridan High School -- Grace Henderson and Dylan Lindley. Fort Mackenzie High School -- Benjamin Hairston.

Star Valley High School -- Alyssa Archuleta.

Southeast Junior/Senior High School -- Tayler Baker.

Sundance Junior/Senior High School -- Giovanna Julian.

Tongue River High School -- Owen Bensel.

Torrington High School -- Madison Bloodgood, Anthony English and Alan Phillips.

Wheatland High School -- Fiona Jones.

Worland High School -- Brandi Neufer.

Wright Junior/Senior High School - Andrew Apodaca, Alyssa Johnson and Deca Lawrence.

Yellowstone National Park area -- Teton High School (Driggs, Idaho) -- Emma Hodgson and Sophie Mattson. Gardner High School (Gardner, Mont.) -- Gabriella Gilbert.

Share This Page:

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Instagram Icon Facebook Icon

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Gainful Employment | Privacy Policy | Accessibility Accessibility information icon